Our kind words really matter to each other!


I want to thank anyone and everyone who comments on the posts that I write.

For example yesterday I wrote two posts about how I felt God said He had turned His face away from me, how I came into the new covenant and came into peace with Him (the shoes of peace) and that He has now promised not to ever do that to me again, because there is peace with Him.

Fear

I spent a whole evening stewing. Really. I was sure I had written too frankly. Too honestly. Would God be angry? Would people say I had gone too far? Maybe someone with a doctorite and 15 years of theological seminary would tell me that my theology was all wrong… even though it’s entirely biblical, yet they’d say that somehow it’s unbiblical and that I’m lost. I was worried about being too religious. Too focussed on my past. Too this. Too that. Mostly, I just felt like I had shown my dirty laundry to the world and that it was somehow bad for others to see it and bad for me to share it. A “real Christian” wouldn’t write the way I do.

I can’t quantify exactly what my fear was… but I guess it’s about the fear of rejection and low self esteem.

I rested

But I rested in the knowledge that I love God and I want the best for everyone who reads this blog – and I think the best can come by me being honest and by me sharing how I struggled and especially how I overcame.

I rested in the words that I have on my wall in my room: “God is not looking at your performance, He is looking at your relationship with Him“. What’s in my heart is what matters. I closed my eyes and slept soundly. Peacefully.

Acceptance

Today I came in and saw heart-felt comments from bill and john and no rejection. And from their comments, I can see the fruit of my writing is good. No one is feeling condemned, friends are feeling held-up and reassured that their experiences are normal and that they are not alone.

And above all, people who are struggling are finding that there is a solution. (Can I get a hallelujah?!)

Being the body of Christ to one another

So I want to thank you guys for commenting and to let you know that your comments are deeply appreciated and that they are exactly how the body of Christ is meant to function. I encourage you, you encourage me. (And you’re also free to rebuke me too… but maybe do that by email. hehehe.)

You might not have known how much your acceptance of my inner most experiences mean to me, even these words in this post really can’t show it either. Just believe it. Thank you!

2 responses to “Our kind words really matter to each other!

  1. Hi abiding

    Thanks again for the kind words. Happy 3rd Christian birthday to you!

    I have tried so hard to find a biblical solution to my past problems, that in the end I learned a LOT of scripture and I found out what does NOT work and what DOES work. Which is nice. hehehe.

    Pruning. Is that what it is? Ugh. hehehe.

    Bless you!
    Mark.

  2. Mark,

    I thank God for your life and your honesty in sharing those things within you, that make you – you.

    Even when fear and doubt tried to creep in, you held fast to the comfort of Him and the purpose of trying to help other ppl.

    Its amazing to see – even in lamentation – that you didnt leave or give the adversary any credit, or glory. And thats something that I’ve always noticed about you… in all that you write, express and post man God always gets the Glory. And that comes from a heart that is centered on Him and a life that is set on loving Him. I can only speak for myself in saying that I wanna be able to get to where you are in Faith and Courage in Him, but its also comforting knowing that the thoughts that I’ve thought or the feelings that I’ve felt are not blasphemous or anything that angers God. I love how you provide scriptural referrences in all that you do…and you never “preach” convictions.

    May God hold and uplift you during this time of pruning.

What did you think of this post or this blog?