A note about the AMP


I remember sitting in Israel with believers who could speak and read Hebrew fluently. Every now and then while reading a bible in english they would call out to someone else and say "what does it say in Hebrew?". I was astounded. I wanted to challenge them… what were they implying? They had the transaltion right there, in front of them, in the english bible. Didn't they?

They would open their Hebrew bible and read out something that had nuances and implications and explanations… that my english NASB bible didn't have. I was rocked. What was the implication of this? Had I based my faith on the wrong words?

Well… no. Not quite. (Besides, my faith needs to be based on Jesus rather than on words).

The issue is that Hebrew words quite often cannot be translated across to single english words, they should be translated to sentences. This is because Hebrew words have extensive meanings behind them. Someone once said, translating Hebrew is an art form – like poetry – and not a science.

The Amplified bible has the extra nuances written into the text so you can consider the meaning for yourself. The New Living Translation also has an extended meaning written into it. Both are wonderful and accurate versions of the bible.

It can take a bit of getting used to, to read the Amplified because they contain ideas and nuances inside () and [], but when you're used to it, you can get a much better idea of what Jesus was saying.

You can read more about the AMP bible here

  • Parentheses () signify additional phases of meaning included in the original word, phrase, or clause of the original language.
  • Brackets [] contained justified clarifying words or comments not actually expressed in the immediate original text, as well as definitions of Greek names.
  • Italics point out certain familiar passages now recognized as not adequately supported by the original manuscripts.

I find the AMP is one of the most useful bibles to help me understand God's meaning behind His words. When I say "God's meaning" I am contrasting it to "our meaning" which every human applies to the words as they enter into his or her brain. To understand better what I mean, please read Speaker meaning and hearer meaning

