Contentment is vital to experiencing joy


The Holy Spirit is dropping this into me:

Open QuotesDon’t be obsessed with getting more material things. Be relaxed with what you have. Since God assured us, “I’ll never let you down, never walk off and leave you,” Quote Closed Hebrews 13:5 (The Message)

Contentment, or discontent is a root cause for problems. Imagine if satan had been content being an angel and didn’t want more. Imagine if Adam and Eve had been content with all the trees except for one. Just imagine what this world would be like if just those two had been content with what they had.

Imagine the happiness and satisfaction I can have in my life if I choose to be content, knowing that God will never leave me and never forsake me, He will provide the things I need. I can trust Him. If I don’t need to grab toys from the other children, if I can be content with what I have, perhaps even give some of what I have away – then my contentment will become joy.

Joy in the security of God’s provision. Joy in being able to rest and not struggle to survive. Joy in His acceptance of me while I was a sinner and His even greater pleasure with me now as His child. Joy in having time and energy to share with others – because of my choice to be content with what I have and safe in the knowledge that God says I can ask for the things I need and He will supply them.

One response to “Contentment is vital to experiencing joy

  1. I thank God, that we can be content in what we have. We always look out and see what others have and would like to have as much. But do we know if those that have worldly this has Jesus in their lives? If we as Christians are content with what God has given us, we are worth more than those that have the world. Remember the things of this world will all pass away, but to know God and to work for a reward that we will have to lay at Jesus feet, out waigh all the things of this world. It doesn’t mean that we have to live in poverty, it just means that God wants us to be content with what we have. count yourself rich if your family are all Christians, or all your children are well and healthy, and you have food to feed your family, and a home for them to come home to. look out in the world and see what others that don’t have as much as you have see in you. They might wish they had what you have. Be content with what you have and count it all BLESSING. PASTOR KEITH!

Comments are closed.