Evangelism – the impact of many people on the world


In this post Evanglism – the medium *is* the message I showed from the bible what we can do to have Christ formed in us and the impact that can have on us.

In this post Evangelism – the impact of one person I’ve explained how Christ is gradually formed in us over time and impacts the people and the world around us. The people around us see something alive and loving and giving in us – something not of this dreary and money obsessed world. We begin to radiate something beautiful… someone Who is not us.

3different_kinds_CIRCLES.PNG

I imagine this effect to be like a concentric circles. Ever expanding circles.

  1. It starts with the changing of you (and it takes a long time)
  2. When we are in His image then He uses us to change those around us
  3. then we eventually change the world.

Let me show you how the world becomes changed.

Imagine if many people around the world were doing the same thing, simply living the truth of the bible – allowing the Holy Spirit to change them. Instead of empty promises, rather than telling stories and teaching messages… instead they are LIVING the life. They ARE the message.

Now imagine that in every suburb, in every town and city, in every nation – ever expanding circles of people being renewed – what would that look like? Like this image below perhaps?

5earth.gif

Pretty soon as this ever-expanding series of circles begin to overlap and they grow in strength, no longer alone but now connected as they grow larger and larger – as their influence grows.

3church_now.jpg

With these droplets that are gradually gathering pace, the calm church (see pic above) would start to ripple and come alive (see pic below)

2church_building_up.jpg

The ripples would grow as more and more people are added, as more lives are affected, as heaven invades earth, as we’re re-made into His image.

2church_together.jpg

If we all grew in Him, together the church may begin to look like this thundering wave (see pic above) and Jesus would come riding in on this (see pic below)

1jesus.jpg

When He comes back, His Bride will have been made ready and she will be beautiful.

And I saw the holy city, the new Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven like a beautiful bride prepared for her husband. – Rev 21:2

One of the Seven Angels … spoke to me: “Come here. I’ll show you the Bride, the Wife of the Lamb.” He took me away in the Spirit to an enormous, high mountain and showed me Holy Jerusalem descending out of Heaven from God, resplendent in the bright glory of God. – Rev 21:9-11

Jesus is coming back for a bride that is “resplendent in the bright glory of God”. She may not have conquered the politics of the world, but she will be prepared for her Husband and she will be seen as beautiful in her Husband’s eyes. It’s not important how the world sees her. The world may see her as poor but God sees her heart, He sees her love for one another and He comes to her.

I am so excited by these images and what I like about it the most is that it begins with a bunch of people who may be spread around the world and may not necessarily even know each other. All they have in common is that they are seeking the truth, they don’t compromise and they want Christ formed in them.

They read the brochure, bought the book, saw the movie, collected the toys and now they want the life – at any personal cost.

These people then went on to have Christ formed in them and they got on with loving the people around them. Unexpectedly Jesus visited them and gave them the authority that the church had been lacking. They kept loving people and their influence and ability to touch lives grew and grew. More Christians followed their lead and seeked God for themselves, finding the truths in the bible were true all along.

The basis of all of this is love. Loving God. Loving others. Loving ourselves. That’s where it starts – love.

If I could speak in any language in heaven or on earth but didn’t love others, I would only be making meaningless noise like a loud gong or a clanging cymbal.

If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I knew all the mysteries of the future and knew everything about everything, but didn’t love others, what good would I be?

And if I had the gift of faith so that I could speak to a mountain and make it move, without love I would be no good to anybody.

If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would be of no value whatsoever. – I Corinthians 13:1-3

Hallelujah. Truly we follow a great God whose simple plan is completely confusing and confounding to the world.

