Day 14 – A vision, a dream, a course to take


Salaam-a-leikom!

After reading the Rick Warren stuff and writing the post Whose vision are you following? I had written on my hand “what, how, timing” and I went of to sit and watch the blue sea. I prayed about my direction in my life. What. How. Timing.

Today I read the bible and lo and behold I began to read about when Jesus sends out the 72. I can’t find the exact scripture any more, but I am SURE I read it. I read “Your job is to talk about the Kingdom of God“. If I didn’t read it, I must have got it from Him… which is even cooler! Meia-meia!

In particular this verse sticks with me:

…He welcomed them, teaching them about the Kingdom of God and curing those who were ill. – Luke 9:11

Three things: welcome (kindness, love), teaching (about the Kingdom) and healing. If He really is sending me out, then He will give me the authority and the ability to do it.

When the seventy-two disciples returned, they joyfully reported to him, “Lord, even the demons obey us when we use your name!”. “Yes,” he told them, “I saw Satan falling from heaven as a flash of lightning! And I have given you authority over all the power of the enemy, and you can walk among snakes and scorpions and crush them. Nothing will injure you. But don’t rejoice just because evil spirits obey you; rejoice because your names are registered as citizens of heaven.” – Luke 10:17-20

And He knows me… I will live that out very literally. Scorpions beware! I have had some of that authority so far, but not to the extent that He had promised… but then I wasn’t “sent out” before, so I wasn’t surprised.

If this really *is* His word for me, then things should get really fun going forward! I’ll wait for confirmation.

What happened?

What has come together is an idea I got yesterday about studying and an idea I had one year ago about a place people can come and worship Him, which is EXACTLY next to the same university. The two kinda clicked together unexpectedly in me and I now have a vision, a defined mission field and some direction for my life. Can I get a hallejulah!

And previously when read Rick Warren’s stuff, he spoke of having three 10 year plans. I thought… hmmm… that would be nice. Consistent direction that God and I committ to, so we’re both predictably going in one direction instead of zig-zagging madly.

I have been needing a direction for my own personal life (not spiritual) because I don’t actually enjoy running a company – it’s just money money money. More more more. Ugh. A Jesus said to simply trust God… which I try to do. Then there are trials and tests. And it gets a bit much.

I also had a personal dream for about 4 years and it’s just not looking like happening… and I’m getting tired of always waiting. I need a dream to pursue while I wait for my bigger dream of orphanages to happen. I feel like I am always just waiting in God’s waiting room. Ugh. Treading water. Being patient. Waiting.

And all around me people get married and go on in Him and I’m? Waiting. And He sends people to tell me who I am in Him and that although I feel left behind, in fact I’m being prepared… but I just think I’m waiting… and waiting… and…

But now I have some direction – this is if He confirms it, if He wants it, if He backs it, if He pays for it, if He clears the way ahead of it. Wooo!

No confimation = no action. If He’s not in it, neither am I. Back to waiting. Ugh. NOOOOO!!

Body, soul and spirit

It’s interesting how balanced this direction is, unlike previous directions.

You see, people are made up of three parts: body, soul and spirit – we actually need to have goals and direction and we need to take care of THREE areas in our life:

  • To sit sedentary on the couch is to ignore the needs of the body
  • To not worship Jesus and not enter into a relationship with Him is to ignore our spiritual needs
  • To not consider our emotional needs for a partner, or our needs for a mental challenge (depending on your personality type) is to ignore the needs of your soul (mind/mental)

He made us in three parts, so we must take care of all three aspects of ourselves! Body, mind (soul) and spirit.

I feel I have a vision now that covers all three parts:

  • spiritually reach out to people and establish something (the sending of the 72). I know where. I don’t entirely know exactly what to do though.
  • a soul (mental) goal of learning something new that I love and gets me motivated as a person – by going to university and studying something that will make me feel challenged and will help me prepare for my bigger and longer term destiny. I still have an emotional (soul) need which needs to be resolved, but I am sure He is working on that. hehehehe.
  • and a physical goal that will take me 4 years to achieve – I want to complete an ironman competition.

iron_old_man.jpgI have ALWAYS wanted to do an ironman comp. I began to run many years ago, I got up to about 9kms but life got in the way and I didn’t carry on. Sadly.

The remaining fun question is, what do I want to study? Since I want to work on orphanages and help the poor, I was thinking about learning about people and their development – like social rehabilitation. If I am going to help people, I probably should learn ABOUT people. But I love sports (especially rugby!) and if I am going to run a large organisation it would be good to learn to run “high performance” things… so sports management would be just right. Tamam!

And the last remaining nervous question is: who is my partner? hehehe. And even if I like someone, will she choose me?

Direction… I hope it lasts 

When that final piece falls into place, things will finally stop being so vague and perhaps for the first time in my life I’ll be settled in one direction for a significant period of time. No more “you never know where the wind blows” theology. hehehe. I’m really excited. I hope that it doesn’t change… things always seem to change in my life.

Ashofkom Badeen!

