Day 1 FNT fast: changes!


What the heck is a FNT fast? Fasting negative thoughts. It comes from this post.

Well… what a day. I’ll admit it was tough to cut off those negative thoughts, but something brilliant happened when I stopped looking DOWN on myself – I began to look UP to myself. I saw value in me. You know what? When I didn’t spend time focussing on the sad/bad past, I had time to see the great future. As I stopped being down on myself, I had time to believe in myself! As I didn’t waste time with negatives, I found out that I had time to do more things. I had waaay more energy and I just simply felt good.

What happened last night?

Ok, let’s back up a bit. I had printed off my prayer list that I am asking *God* to establish in me – and I prayed to Him about each one before bed. I left it in His big Abba hands. I went to sleep determined not to let negative thoughts happen during this time of fasting. Yeah I know it’s a peculiar kind of fast, but He asked for it… and I think He’s onto something.

I slept like a rock. I woke up and felt odd. Good. Better. For this I know I must partly thank my loyal and wonderful friend (who shall remain a-nony-mouse) (although her cat might try and eat this nony mouse). Yeah, I’m feeling a bit silly.

So what happened during my day?

Yesterday the new rental house looked like it was falling through and this morning the agent phoned me and it all just worked out fine – in about 2 minutes flat the place was mine. I move in next Friday. Woooo! I rang up a skip hire company and they will deliver a skip on saturday so I can throw away the things that I won’t be taking from my old life into my new life.

Not just that. I went through the day interacting with people in a way that isn’t usually me. Waaaay more assertive, I told the guy who messed up my laundry that it wasn’t ok. I told the guy who tried to sell me cardboard boxes (for moving next week) that his prices were waaaay too high (probably more expensive than gold is – by weight – I reckon!) and I drove to two other places to find second hand boxes and then ended up at a rubbish tip (re-cycle) and rescued 12 boxes for about the same price as he would have sold me 1 of his.

This is unheard of for me. I used to take the easiest route because planning and saving money is just too darn hard. And here I was driving around, giving away boxes to my friend Joel. And then, while at Joel’s work I bumped into Emmanuel… he’s doing it tough and seems to have been for a year since I last saw him. I took him out for lunch and we spent time chatting about God. I shared things and we bonded. We’ll be spending time together and get much closer and help one another. When I dropped him off at his home, he looked like he was much happier with life.

I drove around worshipping in my car like I haven’t for a while. Closing my eyes as I worship, stretching out my left hand over the passenger seat (we drive on the right hand side here so the passenger seat is to the left). I was loving every minute of this day! (Note to friends… do not close your eyes while driving. I’m a professional. Don’t try this at home! My pastor Daryl once saw me doing this, he warned me about having accidents while enjoying God’s presence too much. hehehe. LOL!)

And then I thought… well, it’s been such a wonderful day it would be great to top it all of with a fun movie. As I drove to my fav movie complex, I just felt a tugging to not smother God’s work in my life with mindless worldly stuff, but to go to my workplace. Uh? And how is that better? hehehe. But I obeyed.

And as I sat down at my desk I saw a link to something (Odeo) I clicked it and before you know it, I was recording a teaching on Romans 1-6 for you guys. I was podcasting! It’s uploading right now. 1 hour of Romans for you in the next blog post. Wooo! Do you know how long I have been avoiding doing this podcast idea that God has suggested? And the Holy Spirit was here throughout and He did great things. I am so looking forward to your feedback on whether I should do more bible podcasts. Wait until you listen to it, then let me know.

Then someone phoned me and invited me to come to a course called “Wild at heart” with people from my recently-previous church and that will help with the separation, but also will help me grow as a man and a husband-to-be. He said God “told” him to invite me. What the?

While waiting for the podcast to upload (it’s biiiig) to Odeo so you can listen to it, I saw some people going to a Ceroc class in the hall outside where I work. I’ve been meaning to do that for several months too! And guess what. I did it. And I’m totally a natural! I totally creamed it! 3 years ago I had two left feet in a salsa class. I felt like a dunce. Tonight I totally creamed it. I swooped the ladies, had them sitting on my knees, twirling… with feet and hands going everywhere!

And as I write this post, the business has made another huge sale! What the heck is going on here? I’m not bragging, please understand this… it’s not me, He is doing it!

Has God achieved a little bit on each and every of the 16 requests of mine? I mean… does that “please establish me” prayer work or what?! I guess so! God is DOING the stuff in me. Wooo! I’ll be praying again tonight!!!! hehehe.

Ok wait. No. That’s very shallow of me. I don’t like seeing God as a vending machine. (Insert 20c of prayer, press button to receive thing asked for. Yuck.) The following bible verses much more closely explain how I feel:

So don’t you see that we don’t owe this old do-it-yourself life one red cent. There’s nothing in it for us, nothing at all. The best thing to do is give it a decent burial and get on with your new life. God’s Spirit beckons. There are things to do and places to go!

This resurrection life you received from God is not a timid, grave-tending life. It’s adventurously expectant, greeting God with a childlike “What’s next, Papa?

God’s Spirit touches our spirits and confirms who we really are. We know who he is, and we know who we are: Father and children. And we know we are going to get what’s coming to us—an unbelievable inheritance! We go through exactly what Christ goes through. If we go through the hard times with him, then we’re certainly going to go through the good times with him!

Romans 8:12-17 (The Message Bible)

Indeed an unbelievable inheritance. I can’t wait for what He does tomorrow! Our God is a good God. Like Eugene Peterson says in the Message Bible (see above): What’s next papa?

2 responses to “Day 1 FNT fast: changes!

  1. *Applaud applaud*

    I’m so glad to see things going His Way for you mark! I also would
    like to add one small thing to your amazing post – God does wonders
    IF you let him do wonders!

    Yes our God is an awesome and good God indeed 🙂

    God bless

    d4g

  2. Hey Mark,
    I’m so proud of you! Sounds like you’re being abundantly blessed. I rejoice with you.
    BTW-the course you wrote about-does it use the “Wild at Heart” book? It’s a fabulous book. I read it and it has helped me immensely to understand why men are like they are and women aren’t like us. It’s so cool when you find out why God created us like he did.

Comments are closed.