Book: How people grow


How People Grow: What the Bible Reveals About Personal Growth by Dr. Henry Cloud, Dr. John Townsend

how_people_grow.jpgThis book is tremendous. So many people recommend Boundaries by the same authors, but “How People Grow” goes well beyond Boundaries. It’s very biblically based book and it demonstrates some fantastic principles directly from the life of Jesus. Here’s an example:

Others may become emotionally detached to the point they have become self-sufficient and insular. For them, an indwelling Presence may be meaningless. They are glad Jesus is there, but don’t know what to do with Him.

Far out! That sounds exactly like I was a few years ago and remained until fairly recently.

A few years ago I was in my room and God entered the room. Yeah. Literally. He poured into the room like water. My body sizzled with electricity as it happened. I was standing in His Presence… I guess… and do you know what? I fluffed it. Again! I had no relational ability left in me, because I was so messed up. It didn’t even occur to me to talk to Him, but I so liked the feeling of Him in the room I decided that THIS would be a great time to have a coffee. Yeah! So I left the room to go have a coffee. He wasn’t there when I got back.

No, I’m not kidding. Just imagine. Sigh. Double-sigh. You gotta wonder why He chooses to work with such messed up humans eh?

Anyway, more about the book and why it’s so valuable. Still in Chapter 5 “Jesus: Our example for living”:

Depend on God and people

While we must endure the work of growth, we can’t bear it alone. To be comforted and strengthened we need God and people with us. Jesus was dependant on God and people. He taught us to be like Him nd ask God for our daily bread (Matt 6:11). Yet he also asked His closest friends to be present with Him in His dark hours (Matt 26:38). We can’t bear life on our own, nor were we created to. Jesus did not model independance, but dependance.

The whole book is written to growers of other and to those who are growing. It’s filled with biblical examples and suggestions on what to do next. It’s fabulous. If you like Boundaries, you’ll love How People Grow.

4 responses to “Book: How people grow

  1. Mark,

    Did I just read the words, “Far out!” in the above post? It’s been years since I heard anyone use this expression…like, dude, when I was living in California!

    Thanks for the book recommendation. I’ll have to order it. Hope you are having a great week!

  2. Sounds like a good book to use in counselling Mark. I have just recently lead the Boundaries course again and its great to see how Cloud and Townsend’s biblically based material helps people. I’ll check it out at good old Koorong!!!

    One of my favourites is by Cloud ” Changes that Heal ”

    Thanks for the heads up.

Comments are closed.