Bruce Springsteen – Secret Garden (Wild at Heart)


I’ve been doing the Wild at Heart Field Manual (for men) and over the weekend I read Captivating (for chicks). Wow. Insightful. Seriously.

It mentioned this song – as it describes the state of a woman’s heart after the fall. The need for a woman to be saved from an otherwise boring and passionate-less life by a strong Godly and passionate man who has a zest for life. In the book he mentions this song and today I found it online.

It’s so sad to see the crestfallenness of God’s most beautiful creation. And I know that men too are fallen and in need of a woman’s help to be restored. The whole concept is sad and yet filled with the excitement and the potential for discovery of an intimacy that I have never dreamed of.

She’ll let you in her house
If you come knockin’ late at night
She’ll let you in her mouth
If the words you say are right
If you pay the price
She’ll let you deep inside
But there’s a secret garden she hides

She’ll let you in her car
To go drivin’ ’round
She’ll let you into the parts of herself
That’ll bring you down
She’ll let you in her heart
If you got a hammer and a vise
But into her secret garden, don’t think twice

You’ve gone a million miles
How far’d you get
To that place where you can’t remember
And you can’t forget

She’ll lead you down a path
There’ll be tenderness in the air
She’ll let you come just far enough
So you know she’s really there
And she’ll look at you and smile
And her eyes will say

She’s got a secret garden
Where everything you want
Where everything you need
Will always stay
A million miles away

2 responses to “Bruce Springsteen – Secret Garden (Wild at Heart)

  1. Hey Mark,

    Thank you for your gracious and understanding reply – I am so glad you have already been aware of the theological flaws in the Eldredge books. But yes, I totally agree, the books can be so helpful in aiding us to deal with emotional issues and healing – they really did for me.

    I just wanted to warn you (and others) in case you were not aware of the biblical errors in these books, but I’m glad to know you do know them!

    I am very surprised that they choose to talk about open theism in the field manual, that alarms me a lot as well! That really does not reflect the Bible…. Unfortunately, I think that the Eldredges start with some excellent points and thoughts, but then they tend to go off with them too far and use verses out of the context to try and support them. A lot of their writing is much more based on life experience than on the teaching of the Bible. Let us pray for them, for they have such gifts in counselling and emotional healing, that it is just such a shame for it to be marred slightly by dodgy theology.

    God bless you Mark and thanks,
    Emily

    Hi Emily. Yeah the open theism thing is dodgy. Definitely. But he certainly strikes a chord in many men and women. His books are so left field in a sense, but so right on. It’s a good idea to pray for them, God has given you a very generous heart. God bless you! Mark.

  2. When I first read Wild at Heart and Captivating, I fell in love with both books instantly…. I loved the way the Eldredges write, and I loved the way what they wrote made me feel. I even lent Wild at Heart to a friend who gave it to his nonChristian friend, who then consequently (because of many other factors as well) became a Christian!

    Now, I still believe that they have a lot of wonderful and incredible insights into both men and women, mostly from a psychological viewpoint. Some great nuggets of truth and wisdom. But I always had some small doubts about the way John quoted Bible verses out of context, and just the lack of Bible verses generally in his books. There were also some things that I read that made me feel uneasy in my spirit.

    Then I came across book reviews of both Wild at Heart and Captivating from the Council of Biblical Manhood and Womanhood (which I trust very much):

    http://www.cbmw.org/resources/reviews/eldredge_wah_review.php

    http://www.cbmw.org/article.php?id=204

    http://www.cbmw.org/article.php?id=203

    And it seems that my doubts were confirmed. I was however, upset to read these reviews because these 2 books had become so precious to me. But God showed me they had become too precious to me – and that I was going to those more to discover about men and women than I was going to the Bible.

    So despite these books having plenty of great and right things to say about men and women, I believe you have to be very careful taking every single thing they say literally. For example, they tend to focus more on glorifying man and woman than God.

    Therefore, I have decided to put the books on my shelf and leave them there. I doubt I’ll ever read them again and I don’t intend to lend them to anyone.

    So Mark – just a warning! Please be careful what you hold onto in these books, as not all of it is wholly biblical, I and countless others believe.

    God bless you 🙂
    Emily

    Hi Emily.

    Yes, as I read Wild at Heart I also have the same feelings – that he is making very insightful comments… and yet his theology is quite broken in some areas. He writes in his “field manual” about “open theism” which alarms me a LOT. Their theology reflects our experience in this life, but it does NOT reflect the bible. I choose to place the bible first, otherwise we’re a ship adrift without an anchor.

    Thank you for those links and for gently speaking up. Yes I agree that we can find a more complete biblical manhood and womanhood in the bible. Wild at Heart does manage to crack open some of the strongholds of the mind and for that I am grateful.

    God bless you,
    Mark.

Comments are closed.