What happened to Zacchaeus?


This is a part of a quirky “what happened to…” series

  1. What happened to Josiah?
  2. What happened to Goliath’s kids?
  3. What happened to Zacchaeus?
  4. What happened to Moses?
  5. What happened to the Sons of Sceva?
  6. What happened to Peter?
  7. What happened to Jehu?

And now for the main attraction…

First, before I explain about Zacchaeus, let me take a detour and illustrate the experience of Zacchaeus in a friend’s life.

Abiding has been courageous enough to live her life in public view over the last few weeks. She let it all hang out… the downs and now the ups… and today we can see her breakthrough in this post: Back to Health She says so many wise things. This is a woman who is after God’s heart – as many of you are.

Here are some snippets, but I recommend you go over there and read it all and leave some encouragement. She wrote about:

How to renew ourselves

Abiding writes: I’ve gotten off track in alot of areas and by simply taking the time to get away (from the crowd) and replenishing myself with the life track study of who Jesus was, and what it was that he wanted to get us to understand, I’ve really seen a positive change in my thinking and my reactions.

It’s not about performance

Abiding writes: I’m not in this to compete with the world anymore. I’m tired of running this race by watching the dude three lanes over. With that mentality, its no wonder that I keep crashing into the hurdles. I’m setting my sights upon the finish line.

It’s about loving each other

Abiding writes: I spent all day Friday, and part of today walking up and down the aisles in the grocery store, and speaking to ppl and starting up spontaneous conversations with strangers in the parking lots. I’ve been blessing ppl with smiles and laughter, and filling them with the hope for a brighter day.

I’ve shared the truth about the love that God has given to a young man who was filled with anger and aggression built up into layers and layers of defenses and hurts and rage. And I saw his heart melt into clay when he surrendered to God.

God melted her heart

That is what makes me happy and thats what I want my life to be about.

It’s so fun and easy… what is the name of that gift?

Abiding writes: I’m not sure what “gift” that is…

Gift? No, it’s His core message. His reason for coming. His way. His lifestyle. To mix in amongst the people. To sleep at the tax collector’s house. To touch the sick. To hug the children. To encourage a widow. To talk. To sleep in our houses. To spend time. To abide.

You’re following His command to love others AS HE DID! Woohoo!

My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. – John 15:12

He walked with us. He hugged our children. He slept with us. He faced the storms on the boat. He walked on His two human feet next to us. He talked. He taught. He ate.

Fully God… He existed before the world began… and yet… He lived as we do on dirty floors amongst sick people. So far above and so down to earth. And He commands us to do the same as He did. Too easy!

Now that you’re following His command you can expect some really wonderful things to happen…

Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.” – John 14:21

and this it where it gets really good…

If you love me, you will obey what I command. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever— the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you. I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. – John 14:15-18

His command is so simple… and when we do it, it feels so good. It feels like He is with us… and that is because He is!

I often wonder, can it really be this simple to heal people (pray for them, love them, listen to them, accept them).

Can it be this simple to be obedient to Jesus? Is this really what He asks of us (to give what we have extra to the needy, to help the orphans and widows).

Abiding writes: Hallelujah!

Hallelujah indeed sister!! 😀

Zaccheus

So now we return to Zacchaeus… and you can see the change in Zacchaeus is the same change that we see in Abiding’s life.

Jesus was walking through the town and He saw the sinner, a tax collector Zaccheus, in the tree. He said “hurry down Zaccheus I must stay at your house tonight!” and they had dinner. Zaccheus saw the error of his greedy ways and changed in his heart. Zaccheus gave away his wealth and committed to repaying double to the people he had stolen from. Jesus then said:

Jesus said to him, “Today salvation has come to this house – Luke 19:1-10

QUESTION: What is it that Zacchaeus did, that caused Jesus to say salvation had come to this house?

When you can answer that and accept it, you will see it is not about religious/ritual words that must be said… but Jesus is looking for a change in our hearts. A change in our behaviour that shows that we are keeping His command.

This is a part of a series:

  1. What happened to Zacchaeus?
  2. What happened to Moses?
  3. What happened to the Sons of Sceva?
  4. What happened to Peter?
  5. What happened to Jehu?
3 responses to “What happened to Zacchaeus?

  1. Hi Mark, Diana and John,

    I posted replies back on my blog, but I wanted to let you know that I’m so very grateful and appreciative to your kinds words and footprints left throughout those last posts.

    Mark, I like how you took clips and put it together in a timeline. Your God sent insight never ceases to amaze me.

    Blessings to all!

    Hey, He amazes me too!!! – Mark.

  2. God is doing awesome things!! He moves in the midst of our darkest moments. He is so Good to me!
    Oh God I just want to adore you!

    Mark- God is awesome…….I wish I can say more on this post but praises just roll……..Hallelujah!

    God is good. The walk is NOT easy. You wouldn’t say it’s easy. I wouldn’t. Abiding wouldn’t. But it’s worth it. God is good, no doubt. – Mark.

What did you think of this post or this blog?

