Life coaching for Christians… the biblical way


You know how many people go to “life coaches” right? Essentially what a life coach does is they encourage you to life your life to it’s fullest potential. To embrace your life and go after your goals.

This morning I woke up to a revelation. Christianity is the ultimate form of life coaching.

Think about it for a minute. God has given us all different talents. Skills. Abilities. And He wants us to use them.

Do you sing? Then go sing! Are you by nature a pastor? Go pastor! It’s the essence of the parable of the talents! We must not forget that He wants us to love Him in doing it and He wants us to love one another through our gifts.

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men – Col 3:23

lemonade.jpgWhat a refreshing thought. Like a cool drink on a hot summers day.

I’m just stunned that God WANTS me to succeed in my life. He WANTS me to succeed in whatever I am good at. Do I like dancing? Then dance! And dance for Him, dance to love others (IOW not in a smutty way)!

It’s just WONDERFUL that He wants me to live – and to live abundantly. He wants me to heal and recover… and a major part of healing is to… LIVE!

Healing and recovery comes faster if we’re enjoying our lives… and what more fun could there be than embracing what He has placed in my life?

So all I need to do is figure out… what is it He has made me good at? Then go do it! Enjoy it!

I’m good at…

  • I’m good at loving people and giving them time and compassion… I truly enjoy doing this
  • I’m good at writing about my experiences in a way that gives life to people so they can learn and grow and heal
  • I’m good at running groups and organizing things
  • I’m good at praying for people and for revival and for God’s will to be done
  • I’m good at having business ideas… and I’m good at donating the profits to orphanages and charities! (hehehe.)

cold_water-glass.jpgAnd do you what I like the best about Christian life coaching… done the biblical way?

If I do these things (to His glory and in service of other people… loving them), then He will give me more.

And if I use that… more… and more… until I am overflowing with His joy.

And he who had received the five talents came and brought him five more, saying, Master, you entrusted to me five talents; see, here I have gained five talents more.

His master said to him, Well done, you upright (honorable, admirable) and faithful servant! You have been faithful and trustworthy over a little; I will put you in charge of much.

Enter into and share the joy (the delight, the blessedness) which your master enjoys. – Matt 25:20-21

Wow. So simple. So easy. I struggle to comprehend the goodness of God. He gives us gifts, talents and abilities… and if we use them… He gives us more… and our joy grows.

So… all I need to do now is figure out what I’m good at… and GO DO IT every day!

So… what are YOU good at? Are you doing it? Are you working at it “with all of your heart”?

I just “heard” this: You have God’s permission to do what brings you joy, to embrace what makes you unique, to run with the things you’re good at… you have His permission to succeed.

2 responses to “Life coaching for Christians… the biblical way

  1. I agree that you are good at writing things that inspire others! I agree and needed to hear this again. It’s just like I Peter 4:10 – “Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.” God bless you as you continue to use your gifts to honor Him!

    Thanks Marry Anne. You certainly fulfill that scripture with your pictures and verses. This one is just DELIGHTFUL. May God bless you!

  2. This really cuts to the heart of matter! It’s definitely something that I needed to read.

    IMO, you are good at listening to the promptings of God so that He can work through your life to bless the lives of others!

    Thanks!
    -bill

    Thanks for that Bill, I appreciate it. God bless you!

What did you think of this post or this blog?