100,000 visitors!


In the next 12 hours the 100,oooth visitor will visit this blog. Thank you to whoever you are.

You know, when I started this project I was terrified of putting myself out there. But with most things I do, when I get started, I might flutter, flail, whine, drag my feet and complain… but years later people notice that in spite of my anxiety, I hung in there. While the big mouths fall away, I just keep on keeping on. (This is one of the things I like about me)

God’s challenge to me in this blog was to really put myself out there. To dig up and remember my past and share it. No holds barred. Don’r worry about the cost. Just seek the truth and then tell the truth. And if I get judged for it and it costs me, so what… as long as I helped someone. That was His goal.

My goal was to touch 12 people deeply. That’s what my Lord did. He deeply affected 12 people – and through those 12 drop of water He made a tsunami. If that’s good enough for Him, it’s good enough for me.

So here I am. 100k of visitors (not including me). Wow. God did this. Like everything in my life, He saw the end from the beginning, thought it was a good idea, and then pushed and prodded me until I did it. 100k. Huh. Turns out He was onto something. Who woulda thought?

Thank you to the blogging friends that I have made

I don’t think I expected to be able to connect to real people through the internet. I knew I would connect, but I didn’t expect to connect in such a way that I would pray for people and hope for the best for them and share myself with them, knowing I can be me, someday hoping to meet them face to face.

So many people come and go, but real friends stick it out and share themselves and listen to the real you. Real friends are like gold dust, they are people who hear your story and don’t judge. People like these are diamonds. We don’t need many of these people in our lives, but we do need at least one. This blog and the lasting friendships I have formed have developed a simple form of intimacy. Intimacy is actually pronounced “into-me-see” and this blog has let you see into me. I thought you would reject me, instead you accepted me and thanked me for sharing. And as I read your blog, you have let me see into you. THANK YOU for sharing too.

The internet

Just like with democracy, I love and very much hate it. I hate it that there is so much potential for evil to roam freely and spread death to people and families. BUT I love it that the freedoms have the potential for so much good and it can be life giving. It’s our choice which of these occurs in our life and in our relationships.

So now, what’s ahead for me?

I feel the same anxiety about my future as I did when I was beginning to write this blog. In my future I will be putting myself EVEN MORE out there, still in the hopes of helping 12 people. Who knows, I might get lucky and help 2 billion. When I’m not anxious, I’m very excited about our future.

5 responses to “100,000 visitors!

  1. It is very humbling when we realize that God uses our “little” endeavors in BIG ways! Congratulations and keep up the good work.

    Peace
    Neva

  2. I’m 99,994!

    Missed by just the tiniest little bit, huh?

    As one of the people you have impacted through this blog, let me tell you how grateful I am that you responded positively to the leading of the Lord in your life. You truly are a blessing!

    May the road rise up to meet you.
    May the wind always be at your back.
    May the sun shine warm upon your face,
    and rains fall soft upon your fields.
    And until we meet again,
    May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

    In Christ,
    -bill

  3. Bless you for being a blessing Mark!

    That was very powerful what you wrote there…. you thought they (the readers) would reject you, but they’ve accepted you.

    Good bit!

    100,000 visitors huh? Thats 100,000 occurences of ppl’s lives being blessed by receiving truth, God’s word, and encouragement thru your experiences and stories.

    Awesome.

    Go ye’ around the world, proclaiming the Gospel Mark! Amen.

  4. Congratulations Mark! 🙂
    It’s great to know what God is doing with your blog. I know you have encouraged me often with your writings. God is awesome!

    🙂

    A

Comments are closed.