2007/2008 – a bit about me


I am so grateful to everyone who visits this blog. I could never have imagined 100 thousand people would have visited. Every now and then I get comments and emails that remind me that good friends visit here and that we (you and I) mean something to one another… even if we have never met… or not yet anyway! 🙂

So I thought you might like to know a bit more personal stuff about me and my 2007 and 2008, because YES I am a real person and I have a real life. In my blog posts I try hard to focus on love or faith or hope (the big three) and I choose not to communicate about my own real life. So here’s some little known facts about me to remedy that.

2007 – street outreach

worship.jpgDuring 2007 I became involved with a street outreach. This is a picture of one of us worshipping. Its more like an open air church and many people refer to it as a church, because it is so accessible. It is right there.

You can’t miss it. You can’t avoid it. If you want, you can join in – and that is the nature of what is called “an open crowd” where passers by feel drawn in and they instinctively know they can participate. Unfortunately I don’t have the leeway or support to tweak things to grow the open crowd effect… but that’s ok. We’re reaching 70 people with plates of food and 120+ people with glasses of juice/cordial/tea/coffee.

food.jpgWe feed passers by warm food and I consider it an outreach. We preach the gospel the way St Francis of Assisi apparently said: “Preach the Gospel. And If Necessary, Use Words” We let our love and the presence of God do the talking. And it/He certainly does. By refusing to judge and refusing to preach, I get to listen to and speak into people’s lives that would normally never come near a Christian. We worship for the first hour after setting up and then we feed the people and fellowship with them. Genuinely exciting things are happening.

Christmas 2007, at my house

christmas.jpgI began making a nativity scene for my house. I bought the wood and the red light cable and the various bits and pieces and I almost had it finished, but with all the other things I had on the go at the time – Christmas is a time when people need lots of support, suicides are at their highest – I wasn’t able to finish it. Sucks. Next year.

Another bit of good news is I had the best Christmas lights in my street! Yes I can say that… because I was the ONLY one with Christmas lights in my street.

Christmas 2007, the outreach

christmas_ground.jpgWe had an outreach 2 days before Christmas and on Christmas day as well. It was magnificent! We had a tree (thank You Lord for that minor miracle) and heaps of food. We had tables and chairs (thanks again to You Lord) and the kids drew on the ground and the adults talked.

presents.jpgWe gave everyone a small gift – many of them were donated to us. This is the table at the end of the day. We had Christmas music going, tea, coffee, juice, so many donated cakes and sweeties, and a bbq lunch and a huge ham.

A fabulous time was had by all!!

Christmas nativity outreach 2007

nativity.jpgI was also involved in the Fusion Nativity Pageant. I walked with the donkey and the school kids through the malls as we visited the “inn keepers” and asked if they (the inn keepers/shop owners) had any room for Mary. They said no. We booed them and kept walking and singing Christmas songs. When we got to our destination we had games and I did a bbq. It was awesome fun.

More 2007 stuff

exo.jpg knights.jpgbowling.jpg

In 2007 I went bowling, went to the Canberra Knights ice hockey games, went to EXO day (the pic of the stunt rider), went to ALL the available rugby games.

rainbow.jpgIn 2007 I saw SO MANY rainbows, as a signal to me that He can and will fulfill His promises to me. I could also bore you with dramatic stories about my fish pond and the various fishy tales that go with that. And the many many movies I went to. The many wonderful experiences with (and of) God I had. I could… but I won’t. 🙂

My business went well – thank You Lord! I did a bunch of relationship courses to learn and grow and prepare. Heaps of other things happened. It was an amazing year.

So as you can tell, I had a fantastic 2007. You might not know it from all the very serious blog posts that I write… but take it from me, God gave me a wonderful 2007.

2008 stuff

And 2008 is already shaping up to be far far better. 🙂

gh3.jpgI have no less than 3 guitars in my home: electric, accoustic and guitar hero 3. The pressure is on to become proficient as a player and also to overcome my shyness (if that is what it is) and step into my role as a worship leader. Its taking a lot of prodding from God and others around me. hehehe. I absolutely LOVE worshipping God and good things happen when I do… but I’m hesitant, very hesitant, but I will get there.

I’m also half way through learning Spanish. I began to learn Arabic in 2007, but I will leave that for 2009 maybe. My destiny is in that region, but that is for later years. For now the focus is on Spanish and on simply enjoying myself.

I have found new and wonderful people to fellowship with. I have found another place where I can continue to write my new book and to fellowship and work with people. I am looking forward to the new rules in the Super 14 this year (NOTE: I have 2 season tickets).

tree.jpgI’m resisting taking down my Christmas tree because it is the best tree I have ever seen in my whole life. I went to a farm that grows them and I hand picked it and brought it home in the car boot. I loooove my tree. God just worked out all the details and I thank Him for that from the bottom of my heart.

If there is one thing I want to do this year – and God wants me to do as well – it is to learn to dance. I can salsa, but I mean truly dance. I want to really learn to move. In 2007 I did woodwork and fiddled with water pumps for my pond. In 2008 I want to learn how to service my own car, so I will be taking a course for that.

jesus_loves_you.jpgI am so grateful to God for all He has done and all He plans to do in my life. I feel absolutely fortunate to be able to share my experiences and what I have learned. I share it in the street ministry, through this blog, via email with you, through the book I am writing and in face to face time with people.

I know that many of the posts on this blog are about sad experiences, but I hope that you can read this post and know that those times are in my past and the God I serve is a great and wonderful and generous God. Shaping is a hard experience, but the fruit at the end is worth it. I can say that for sure. 🙂

See, I have refined you, though not as silver; I have tested you in the furnace of affliction. – Isaiah 48:10

God bless you. Email me your thoughts (markrobertwilson @ gmail . com)

4 responses to “2007/2008 – a bit about me

  1. Hey Mark!

    A friend of mine sent me the link to one of ur posts last week and since then, i’ve read several of ur posts up here…the first thought in my head was, “wow!! this one’s gotta be a real person livin a real life!!” heh. This blog is a real blessing! I pray and believe that this new year would be a year of breakthroughs and outpouring for u! God bless!

  2. Hi Mark-
    I have recently started blogging again after being, well I don’t know where I was! It’s nice to come back and see friends still here. Thanks for the update and God bless you in 2008! I have such a great expectancy that this year is going to be life altering!

  3. hey Mark, awesome blog, I found it thru a search engine :). I just want to say keep up the good work. I think it’s awesome that you do outreaches, God bless and maybe he be present whenever you write on your blog 🙂

  4. Thanks for the update! I appreciate your passion for the Lord and how that plays out in your life.

    Kudos on the guitar work. I enjoy playing but not in a formal role at church – just some smaller gatherings.

Comments are closed.