Building a biblical betrothal contract based on Eph 5 (part 3)


This is a four part series

  • Entering into the covenant… a summary (part 4, final)
  • Building a biblical betrothal contract based on Eph 5 (part 3)
  • The 9 things that happen before your wedding to Jesus (part 2)
  • Marriage to Jesus Christ begins now (part 1)
  • If you want what I have been writing about, it’s actually very simple.

    You need two things:

    1. faith, acceptance – expressed as a cup of juice/wine if possible
    2. a contract/agreement of what you are giving and receiving

    What I did on valentine’s day is I wrote out a prayer to Jesus (and to His Father in Heaven) and in it I accepted His cup.

    For example, I accepted His promise to “carefully protect” me and the other promises I could find in Eph 5.

    Here are the verses:

    22Wives, be subject (be submissive and adapt yourselves) to your own husbands as [a service] to the Lord. 23For the husband is head of the wife as Christ is the Head of the church, Himself the Savior of [His] body. 24As the church is subject to Christ, so let wives also be subject in everything to their husbands.

    25Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave Himself up for her,

    26So that He might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the Word, 27That He might present the church to Himself in glorious splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such things [that she might be holy and faultless].

    28Even so husbands should love their wives as [being in a sense] their own bodies. He who loves his own wife loves himself. 29For no man ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and carefully protects and cherishes it, as Christ does the church, 30Because we are members (parts) of His body. 31For this reason a man shall leave his father and his mother and shall be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh.

    32This mystery is very great, but I speak concerning [the relation of] Christ and the church.

    33However, let each man of you [without exception] love his wife as [being in a sense] his very own self; and let the wife see that she respects and reverences her husband [that she notices him, regards him, honors him, prefers him, venerates, and esteems him; and that she defers to him, praises him, and loves and admires him exceedingly]. [See also I Pet 3:2]

     – Eph 5:22-33

    We accept from Him:

    • I accept You as my head – Eph 5:23
    • I accept that You sanctify me and cleanse me – Eph 5:26
    • You will love me as You love Yourself – Eph 5:33
    • You will nourish and carefully protect me and cherishes me – Eph 5:29
    • From this time forward we are bound together, in union – Eph 5:31

    We commit to:

    • (With the help of the Holy Spirit) I will be subject to You (Eph 5:24)
    • (With the help of the Holy Spirit) I will adapt to You (Eph 5:22)

    I wrote this, ordered a glass of the best red wine (I was at a cafe – where I usually do my journalling and praying) and I sipped after each line. Well… after the first line something amazing happened, I definitely heard a voice from Heaven say that I am now a part of His Family.

    Anyway, you do it for you in your way and with your heart commitment and enter into your own relationship.

    Continuing from The Jewish Wedding:

    The Betrothal ritual is like an engagement party. The promise was made and it was binding. The man and wife do not live together or have sexual intercourse at this time. A cup of wine is lifted up and drunk by the Bride to seal the Betrothal.

    This is something to enter into as a whole hearted commitment. A wife-to-be then goes home and prepares herself for marriage.

    She may put away old boyfriends. She begins to imagine her new life. She beautifies herself for Him. She prepares herself emotionally for Him.

    Emotionally she leaves her old family. Emotionally she takes his new name. Emotionally she stops seeing her old family as hers, she sees her new family as hers. She leaves the old, she embraces the new.

    An unfailful wife may enter into convenant or marriage and then continue in her old ways, going with other men. That kind of wife is eventually divorced, just as God divorced His wife for her unfaithfulness. Don’t be that wife.

    Adjust to your new Husband, adapt to Him. Put the old things away, accept the new. To help you do this (impossible0 thing Jesus sent the Holy Spirit. That is why He is called the Helper.

