Not by might nor by power but by my Spirit (Zech 4:6)


This is a series of posts…


Ask anyone who knows me over the past few decades, they will tell you I have had an intense experience of seeking God. Ask anyone who knows me now, they will say the intensity has gone and its within me but on the outside I am more at peace and travelling well now. I have pretty much found my groove and what I have been looking for.

How did I do it? How can you do it? Read on…

Without a shadow of doubt I came to the conclusion long ago that Jesus Christ is the Christ that was promised by the old testament. But. My inner longing and yearning continued. And continued.

I’ve travelled through 20+ countries. I’ve talked and discussed spiritual things with everyone in each of those countries. No holds barred, no topic off limits, nothing too sensitive. I’m a determined man, I left no stone unturned. My desire for God drove me and drove me.

But why did it drive me so much? Read on… 🙂

Then in 2000 God spoke through a prophetess that He had PUT a great spiritual hunger within me and it would only be satisfied when I seek Him with all my heart and soul. Armed with this potential solution, and longing for that satisfaction and release and peace, I pressed myself even harder and harder to come to a place of seeking Him with all of my heart and soul.

God was referring to this verse…

They entered into a covenant to seek the LORD, the God of their fathers, with all their heart and soul. – 2 Ch 15:12

So I “pressed in”. (Ugh.) No, it didn’t work. (And how deeply I have come to dislike that phrase “press in”. If at all possible, please never say those words to me again. It’s simply terrible advice to anyone.)

The strategies…

When I found something in the bible that seemed to bring the person closer to God, I did it.

I literally made incense from the right ingredients. I made dinner and placed an extra seat. I anointed my right toe and ear (Lev 8:23, Ex 29:20). I had worship music going day, night and in my car. I attended church as much as I could. I got the cd. Got the dvd. Bought their music. I wrote His name on my arm (Is 44:5) and I have that picture (left) to prove it! 🙂

But, sigh, all that pressing in (ugh) and it didn’t work.

So… knowing that the prophetess had said God says that the key was to seek Him with all my heart and mind, I doubled my efforts more.

I bought books listing every prayer in the bible, Every Name Of God, every teaching of Jesus, every name of the Holy Spirit, praying the 120 names of God, every prophecy about the Christ in the OT, I looked into Every Promise In The Bible hoping to get some of them… and… and I prayed and prayed and prayed.

If I say to you that I am a determined man, you will now probably believe it, right? hehehe.

And? And nup. I surely gained favor and mercy from God, but peace-stillness-deliverance was far off. I am sure that the people at church thought I had lost it. “Poor delusional guy” they probably muttered as they walked past the guy with the name of God written on His arm.

I didn’t care. I still don’t. I wanted to find God. For real.

But what I didn’t know was the meaning of this scripture…

Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,’ says the LORD Almighty. – Zech 4:6

The answer…

All that pressing in (ugh!) and for what? The answer lay with Him the whole time. Look:

I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse you from all your impurities and from all your idols. I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws. – Ez 36:25-27

So there’s your answer. He does it. And how do you get it? The answer to that lies just 10 verses later. Are you ready? It’s not complicated. Here it is…

Thus says the Lord God: For this also I will let the house of Israel inquire of Me to do it for themEz 36:37

Tah-dah!!!!! We inquire of Him, He does it. What does He do? He increases us, He causes us to live. 🙂

“Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit“. He does it. You ask Him to do it. If you are “Jewish”, you ask Him to do it and if you are “Christian/Messianic” then you believe He did it on the cross already and it’s yours already.

I quoted Ez 36:25-27 but in fact I found the same promise again and again in so many locations. Here are another 5 instances – just to get you started:

And the Lord your God will circumcise your hearts and the hearts of your descendants, to love the Lord your God with all your [mind and] heart and with all your being, that you may live. – Deut 30:6

We ask/believe (Ez 36:37). He does it. We love Him and really live.

And I will give them a heart to know (recognize, understand, and be acquainted with) Me, that I am the Lord; and they will be My people, and I will be their God, for they will return to Me with their whole heart. – Jer 24:7

We ask/believe (Ez 36:37). He does it. We return to Him and be His people.

But this is the covenant which I will make with the house of Israel: After those days, says the Lord, I will put My law within them, and on their hearts will I write it; and I will be their God, and they will be My people. – Jer 31:33

We ask/believe (Ez 36:37). He puts His law in us and writes it on our heart. We become His people, He becomes our God. It’s VERY personal.

And they will be My people, and I will be their God. And I will give them one heart and one way, that they may [reverently] fear Me forever for the good of themselves and of their children after them.And I will make an everlasting covenant with them:

I will not turn away from following them to do them good, and I will put My [reverential] fear in their hearts, so that they will not depart from Me. – Jer 32:38-40

We ask/believe (Ez 36:37). He gives us (Jews and non-Jews) one way and one heart. He causes us to reverently fear Him for our own good. He promises to not stop doing good to us. He will cause us not to depart from Him.

And I shall put My Spirit in you and you shall live, and I shall place you in your own land. Then you shall know, understand, and realize that I the Lord have spoken it and performed it, says the Lord. – Ez 37:14

We ask/believe (Ez 36:37). He puts His Holy Spirit within us, He places us in our own “place” (for Jewish people this is Israel of course). Because He has done this for us, we know it is He who has done it (no one else could have) and we KNOW and UNDERSTAND that it is He.

One more thing. You saw I quoted Ezekiel chapters 36 and 37. (Ez 36:37, Ez 37:14, Ez 36:25-27) and you saw that I said these promises are for Israel and for non-Jewish people. How do I justify this? Well, lets look again at the same chapter of Ezekiel 37!

Son of man, take a stick and write on it, For Judah and the children of Israel his companions; then take another stick and write upon it, For Joseph, the stick of Ephraim, and all the house of Israel his companions;and join them together into one stick that they may become one in your hand.

And when your people say to you, Will you not show us what you mean by these?Say to them, Thus says the Lord God: Behold, I will take the stick of Joseph–which is in the hand of Ephraim–and the tribes of Israel his associates, and will join with it the stick of Judah and make them one stick, and they shall be one in My hand. – Ez 37:16-19

So it is in this way that I can confidently say that the promises apply to both houses – to modern day Israel and to non-Jewish people.

If I can leave you with one thing, I would try and impress on you the need to ASK and to BELIEVE

Thus says the Lord God: For this also I will let the house of Israel inquire of Me to do it for them; I will increase their men like a flock. – Ez 36:37

May God bless you in your search, as He blessed me.

Please share this post with someone who is searching, or someone who needs to see their life and their potential in a whole new light – as an overcoming victory through Jesus Christ. May God bless you – and I look forward to reading your comments and replying to them!

23 responses to “Not by might nor by power but by my Spirit (Zech 4:6)

    • Hi Ruben

      We are all called to love one another. That is the general rule.

      Its ok to defend yourself against and aggressor. But who is the aggressor… that is sometimes hard to determine.

      Israel is surrounded by nations that have attacked it many times over. Iran still says it wants to wipe Israel off the map… so Im not surprised that they defend themselves as if their lives depend on it.

      That situation is not easily discussed and not easily resolved. Its multi-facetted.

      Thanks,
      Mark.

  1. Please, Never stop sharing this truth!!! I typed in “not by power, nor by might” & got your acticle. It certainly encouraged me bcause The Lord let me realize I could’nt work hard enough to do this! Can’t do it myself!! Its takes the Power of The Holy Spirit!! Its my job to know I have it; “without faith its impossible to please Him”. Pray my change comes soon! Its been a long time!!! God Bless & Keep U…In Jesus Name Amen!!! BARB

  2. Hey there,

    My status in a goverment job wasn’t renewed so I had to go. Yesterday I got news from a former colleague of mine, who got to be my next deciple (that I need to lead to the Lord), who happened to have dinner with all the rest of my former colleagues. She told me my ex boss is playing my part trying to create unity within the unit. She told me my boss is much mistaken trying to force unity instead of simply loving people and that she wouldn’t succeed cos I was THE person for that. I said, nope, it was Christ living in me. To get this job was a big struggle, to keep it was even bigger and now I’ve been unemployed since mid august and have been feeling quite down in the dumps. However through this report I was reminded of this verse and wanted to put it on my fb-status. Thus looking for the exact reference I found this. It was very encoruraging, thank You and God bless You!

    Emily

  3. Mark
    what an awesome post. I was really lessed. Searching for “not by might nor by power…” I found your blog. For me it was how do I reconcile the “continuous effort/never give up” philosophy with “by My Power”. Your post has helpd me put those together, with ultimately letting go and letting God. (easier said than done for the Male sensibility).
    thanks again
    M

  4. Thank you for what you wrote. It is the easy answer. I have studied this passage also. I believe I was given the gift of knowledge, that is to say, I am given a clear meaning of scripture. Of course, I have to apply myself to the Word and grow just as everyone else but I am given insight to the scripture.
    Picture if you will a candlestick different than the one in the temple. Instead of each branch having a bowl, there is one bowl to draw from, one source. The seven lamps are the seven Spirits of God (Rev 4:5 A great study itself) the two olive trees are the two witnesses (Rev 11:3,4) Notice verse 4 also calls them two candlesticks. The Mount of Transfiguration (Matt 17:1-8) holds the key. Moses displayed the might of God and was rejected. Elias (Greek for Elijah) displayed the power of God and was rejected. Check Rev 11:6 for the further proof of identity. With the power and might rejected (God knew it would happen) you have a picture of two golden pipes leading from these two witnesses (not from their person) to the bowl that feed the seven Spirits. So when you get saved, you get the Spirit AND the power and might of God. Example; If you had the faith of a grain of mustard seed and you were to say to the moutain be thou removed into the sea, it would be removed into the sea. The problem is not on God’s end, it is, as before, on our end. It is our lack of belief! It is a great picture of what God is willing to give us so He can work through us. We are his workmanship CREATED unto good works. But as with the Mad Man of Gadarah, He left the coast doing not many works because of their unbelief!
    Just my thought on it.

    • Hi

      Thank you for sharing this. Yes I do believe you were given a word in season. Thank you for being willing to share it.

      God bless you! Mark.

  5. I want to thank you for these words of life. I have been trying to quit smoking and I keep hearing not by might nor by my spirit. But I continue to try until I am totally frustrated again and again. I heard from your story to inquire of Him and that’s what I will be doing. Thanks for your story!

  6. Magnificent.

    Amen and Amen. This post is scripturally true. After much searching the same conclusion is arrived at:

    ‘Not by might nor by power but by the Spirit of the Lord.’

    God does it.

    If if were up to us to by holy, righteous, obedient, etc., it would never happen because no is God grade perfect — except God. And without holiness, righteousness, and obedience, no one could stand before God and the only other alternative is…

    Thus, Jesus’ name is: “The Lord Our Righteousness’. ‘Yeshua = Salvation (Savior).

    Thus, we Ask (for Jesus Lordship over us) we Accept and Believe in Jesus’ Saving Lordship over us and by His Holy Spirit we bear the fruits of His Spirit.

    Romans 8:18: For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.

    Note: ‘…revealed in us.’

    ‘Not by might, nor by power, but by the Spirit of the Lord.’

    Jesus is the Lord!

    Wow!

  7. Want to see God, the Holy Spirit? Then visit sahajyoga website and get your conection with God. See for yourself

  8. Thank you for your site…. Praise the Lord for you and the other ones I have encountered today Dear Prayer Warrior

    I am asking for help to overcome the demons living in my mind which are the only thing I feel I am currently struggling with and have been for most of my life….. I was born into a Christian family and wavered for several years but now at the age of 50 the LORD is almost screaming at me to get up and follow….
    Please pray that these mind game demons will clear out of my head.
    Thank you and may the Lord bless you with your ministries!
    Jan in WA
    PS and about 29 years ago I became unequally yoked to a very good but religiously stubborn man…. please pray for him too (Walter)

  9. hey bud, i really am so thankfull to father for what ive just read,i to was in the same untill tonight, pushing pushing to find that. but you correct, cease from striving and simply believe, thats all there is to it,,,hmmmmm, how much sence that all makes, take it in rather than digging a decade trying to find, its all there, his thoughts towards us, thank you again..all the best
    dino

What did you think of this post or this blog?

