For as he thinks IN HIS HEART, so is he.


I have written quite a few blog posts about faith, some about love and several about hope.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love. – 1 Cor 13:13

One of the posts I wrote was this one: A biblical strategy for balanced healing: faith, hope and love and I wrote: “In one sentence, this is what I have learned: Faith brings healing and freedom. Hope changes the way you think. And love is what you DO with all this new potential.”

When I wrote about hope, I (of course) quoted this verse…

For as he thinks in his heart, so is he.   – Prov 23:7

Well. Praise God! He clarified something for me yesterday (sunday) through Pastor Brian, something that I didn’t see at all. Checkit!

The words flashed up on the screen: “For as he thinks, so is he.” No. Wait. Ummm… is that really what it says? Ummm… as I sat there… I saw that I had misread the words. Is it indeed “For as he thinks, so is he.” ?? Is it?

No! In fact there are some words missing: “in his heart“, and although I was listening intently before, I suddenly was listening even more.

For as he thinks in his heart, so is he.   – Prov 23:7

Woooah. Thoughts… heart… two things, but connected. Thinks in his heart. My heart is determining my thoughts. Uh-oh! I saw it so clearly.

It became instantly clear to me that how I think in my heart is determining my life. It’s not how I think in my mind. Oh dear, this is deep, muuuuch deeper, this is going where I don’t really want to go! 🙂

And then Pastor Brian really hit the exhillarator, he challenged us to live what God says about us, instead of what our heart says about us.

Kerpow! Right between the eyes. But wait… what He says is not how I FEEL!! Now what do I do?

So – for example – what has God spoken about me?

Time and time again people and leaders prophesy about me being a worship leader. So many times Christians stand in front of me, look quizzically at me, and then ask if I play the guitar. I answer no. They say they can see me holding a guitar, worship leading, big things happening.

So many many times. And to be honest, I love love love worshipping. I do it for hours a day just by myself!

Ok… so what’s the problem? The problem is this… that is what God says this about me, but in my heart I don’t believe it. I’d rather sit quietly in a corner and pray for everyone! And that’s largely what I do – because that’s what’s in my (broken) heart.

For as he thinks in his heart, so is he. Sux!! So because my self esteem doesn’t think I can do it, I don’t do it. Well actually that makes a lot of sense of why my head decides I’m going to do this and that and something else, and then often nothing happens!?

So Pastor Brian challenged us to live according to God’s words for our lives. Gulp. What? You mean go do what God says about me? But. But. I don’t FEEL it, I don’t SEE myself doing it, it’s not how I see myself?! Gulp!!

Busted! Exposed!

The problem that has undermined me for ages is within me and it was clearly exposed. As I think in my heart, I am living. And the challenge was there… live according to what God says of me, and not what I think of me. Oooeeerrr!! This is scary.

So I decided to do it. Make decisions based on His words, rather than based on my heart or my own thoughts of myself.

Last year in my facebook (and on this blog) I wrote as one of the things I wanted to do was worship with the guitar – because I love worshiping! I actually own two guitars and at one stage I owned a guitar hero 3! So what happened? You guessed it, I never learned to play the guitar. Why? Because within my heart I desperately desire to avoid the limelight at all costs.

My (broken) heart is the problem, it defines my thoughts and that defines how I live my life!

For as he thinks in his heart, so is he.   – Prov 23:7

Avoiding limelight

Starting this blog was a source of HUGE anguish for me. Much gnashing of teeth. I did it not because I wanted it in my heart, I did it because He said to. And He was right on the money, I could never have imagined all the good that could come from sharing my experiences and the lessons I have learned on this blog!

It wasn’t in my heart or in my thoughts to do this, it was His plan, His words. So… this year I will be making a change and following God’s words about me and not my heart’s words about me.

Very very scary. Much anguish!

I looked for ways out of it, but God had already laid the plans for me and the confirmations were already there. As I asked questions, I already had the answers. It’s now just a matter of not listening to my self-esteem and listening to God’s plan for me.

Now it’s about NOT listening to how my heart causes me to think, but knowing He has a plan for me,

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. – Jeremiah 29:11

(Also read my post: God has a plan to prosper you… what to do while you wait)

I need to set my thoughts on this truth… knowing that He has already prepared a path for me to walk in

For we are God’s [own] handiwork (His workmanship), recreated in Christ Jesus, [born anew] that we may do those good works which God predestined (planned beforehand) for us [taking paths which He prepared ahead of time], that we should walk in them [living the good life which He prearranged and made ready for us to live]. – Eph 2:10

And you too!

And I’m writing this for you, because He has a plan for you and a path already prepared for you too. Listen to Him. Listen to Him. Listen to Him. Persist O woman of great faith! 🙂

4 responses to “For as he thinks IN HIS HEART, so is he.

  1. Great post. Agreed, an oldie but a goodie. I like your take about the heart. This lifts the focus of this passage from the daily business of our thoughts — which is another matter about the the head and heart — to actually accepting or believing what God has said, as against “following God’s words about me and not my heart’s words about me”.

    Isn’t that process also part of discipleship? (I really love how you had chosen to make thinking God’s thoughts about yourself, rather than listening to your own, a part of your new routine.) A friend reminded me last night that Paul (i.e. the Lord) addresses the Corinthians as saints, not sinners. Christ’s redeeming work had changed them from sinners to saints (who still sin, on occasion), who are part of His “workmanship” created for what” To do “good works” (of obedience).

    Thanks for the post, Mark.

  2. I came across this the same way Nicole did! And although it was written over 2 years ago it spoke to me, a very cool way to share your journalling and impact other people’s lives for Christ. The battlefield of the mind has been the theme for me of late and so the scripture “as he thinks in his heart so he is” is a powerful one to reflect, memorise and most importantly act on everytime I recognise the author of my thoughts as being someone other than my Father!

    • Yes it’s an oldie, but it’s a goodie! I could never ever have imagined that my sorrow would reach out to so many people. Only God knew, when He led me to do this. And you can share your stories and life lessons too 🙂

      God bless you!
      Mark.

  3. Interesting post! I just happened to be searching out this very verse (Prov 23:7) because different versions say different things and I landed here..and man! What you have to say is exactly what God and I are working out in my life! Being a good steward of the gifts He’s given me, despite what I may think about my abilities..thanks! God definitely is using your blog to reach out. Very cool.

What did you think of this post or this blog?

