The highway of holiness for His people to return


Some time back, early in 2008, God had me devour Isaiah. That kept going for about a year or so. During that time I made some videos and I stumbled onto something big: Jesus Christ is the Christ. To be the Christ is to fulfill all the promises that the Christ was meant to fulfill. I had always had hope and faith in Jesus Christ, but now I believed He was/is THE CHRIST and all that this meant. In other words, I began to believe that ALL promises (think about the grand ones in Isaiah and Ezekiel) that they were all yes and amen IN HIM.

For as many as are the promises of God, they all find their Yes

in Him [Christ]. For this reason we also utter the Amen (so be it) to God through Him [in His Person and by His agency] to the glory of God. – 2 Cor 1:20

This was the biggest revelation of my whole life and it enabled me to escape serious emotional and spiritual bondage – simply because I believe He had done what it was promised that He would do! That journey of recovery from despair to hope is described in this blog, as regular readers will know.

every_promise_bible_richardsBut God had already laid the foundation, I just didn’t see it. I had already been led in this direction in the years before, because I had read this awesome book (you can see that I refer to these books already by July 2008) and now I have found this one by googling – but I haven’t read it, so I can’t recommend it.

But God went further with me. Once I had accepted that Jesus IS the Christ and He HAS fulfilled everything promised of Him by Isaiah… He pointed to the actual promises that Isaiah (and Ezekiel) had made. I made another massive discovery which appeared to line up with what Jesus Christ has said. You see, I had  been devouring the gospels and I had found Jesus saying the things I needed – because I was in such severe bondage. He said He had made the world safe for me. He said that those who come to Him would find safety and comfort, because He is the Good Shepherd. I have been a Christian all of my life… but I was in tremendous bondage. Was He a liar? How could I reconcile His words to the reality of my life?

God wasn’t asking me to believe I was free, but instead to believe EVERYONE is free, because that is the promise made by Isaiah and Ezekiel, that a Messiah would come and defeat sin and death. And Jesus Christ said He has done it. Paul said He had done it. But in my life it didn’t seem to be done. What the?!

As I discovered faith, not just general believing but believing that He is the Christ and He has done what was promised of Him, done what He said He has done – etc. So I was challenged to believe not only for myself, but to lay it all down and believe what the bible says. Simply what it says. Word for word. To not change the words and personalise it, but to believe it as it is written. To literally believe “it is finished”, regardless of whether I can see it is finished or not.

This was a tough call. The church doesn’t preach that sin is dealt with. So now I’d be in precarious territory. Out there, alone, me and God. I wrote up my ideas a few years ago and showed it to a few Christians. The first person called it heresy. Daryl didn’t like it. Roma called it “wonderful new covenant theology” and I asked what “new covenant theology” was?! So I was off learning again. This theology has been around since the beginning. Since Jeremiah in fact. Wow! Isaiah promised it too. Ezekiel too. These things would come in with the Messiah, the Christ… and we know that to be Jesus Christ.

But still I struggled… how come I didn’t see it?! If He did it, why don’t I see it? My cousin said “it’s done but it’s not done”. Uh. What? That didn’t help. God was asking me to look beyond my own life, my own bondage – and to look to the bondage of the world, of His people and to see the fullness of ALL of the yes and amen promises. Not just cherry pick some of them for myself.

To simply believe that He has done it all… I needed to really SEE this in the bible. I needed to see it in the Old Testament (tick!) and to see it in Paul’s writings (tick!) and in Peter’s (tick!) and in John’s Revelation (tick!) and I needed to see it in His own words, in the teaching of Jesus Christ Himself. And indeed this is the story of how God showed me what I needed to see. it was the kicker, the thing that convinced me that we are living in awesome and wonderful times.

You see, I was challenged to believe that ALL the promises are yes and amen, including that Jesus Christ has ALREADY done a complete work and has ALREADY created a new heaven and a new earth – which is simply “descending” as Isaiah and Revelations (and a new other books) puts it.

And I have put My words in your mouth and have covered you with the shadow of My hand, that I may fix the [new] heavens as a tabernacle and lay the foundations of a [new] earth and say to Zion, You are My people. – Is 51:16

For behold, I create new heavens and a new earth. And the former things shall not be remembered or come into mind. – Is 65:17

Did you see that word CREATE in Is 65:17? John Wesley commented the following on that word: “I create – I am about wholly to change the state not only of my people, but to bring a new face upon the world, which shall abide until a new heavens and earth appear, in which shall dwell nothing but righteousness. Not be remembered – That state of things shall be so glorious, that the former state of my people shall not be remembered.”

God was saying to me that there IS already a highway of holiness which has been created by Jesus Christ on His cross and in His resurrection. We – the church – are to lift up the banner over it, to encourage everyone to walk on it. Wow. This “highway” is referred to several times in Isaiah and in Ezekiel.

And a highway shall be there, and a way; and it shall be called the Holy Way. The unclean shall not pass over it, but it shall be for the redeemed; the wayfaring men, yes, the simple ones and fools, shall not err in it and lose their way. – Is 35:8

And I will make all My mountains a way, and My highways will be raised up. – Is 49:11

God was showing me that this “way” was already in existence. But I needed more than this, I needed to be utterly convinced of it. I knew I could not see it in the natural, but I had to be able to see it by faith. I needed convincing.

John Gill had this to say “Ver. 11. And I will make all my mountains a way,…. Or “for”, or “into a way” {e}; signifying that they should be dug through or levelled, and a way made through them, over them, or upon them, for his people to pass: very probably the allusion is to the mountains that lay between Babylon and Judea; and which the Lord calls his, because of his making and settling, and was therefore able to make them a way, or passable: though the words are not to be literally understood, but denote the removing of all impediments, obstructions, and difficulties, in the people’s return from captivity”

In that I saw three key things:

  1. The mountains need to be leveled somehow
  2. The mountains refer to the ones that were blocking the returning exiles from Babylon
  3. The mountains also refer to whatever now blocks the return of people onto God’s Highway

Then I began to pray for clarity and for Him to convince me of all of this. I could see it abundantly in Isaiah, but I needed to see the connection to Jesus Christ and to see what “our” role (the church and the individual) was in this. I was immediately rewarded with answers to those questions.

A voice of one who cries: Prepare in the wilderness the way of the Lord [clear away the obstacles]; make straight and smooth in the desert a highway for our God!Every valley shall be lifted and filled up, and every mountain and hill shall be made low; and the crooked and uneven shall be made straight and level, and the rough places a plain. And the glory (majesty and splendor) of the Lord shall be revealed, and all flesh shall see it together; for the mouth of the Lord has spoken it. – Is 40:3-5

This is what Isaiah said would be said of the Christ – and of course it says what the Christ would do… create a highway. And John the Baptist was that person which was prophesied about…

A voice of one crying in the wilderness [shouting in the desert], Prepare the way of the Lord, make His beaten tracks straight (level and passable)! – Mark 1:3

Every valley and ravine shall be filled up, and every mountain and hill shall be leveled; and the crooked places shall be made straight, and the rough roads shall be made smooth; And all mankind shall see (behold and understand and at last acknowledge) the salvation of God (the deliverance from eternal death decreed by God). – Luke 3:5-6

These two verses clearly linked the Highway of God to Jesus Christ. Wow. But I needed to see one more thing. I was lying in bed, really struggling to accept the revelation that the fullness and the completeness of the promises of Isaiah were all done and dusted in Christ Jesus and all we needed to do was receive it by faith. Could it be that simple? Could it really be that profound? Is the absolute completion already available? Is it merely “descending”?

THEN I saw a new sky (heaven) and a new earth, for the former sky and the former earth had passed away (vanished), and there no longer existed any sea. And I saw the holy city, the new Jerusalem, descending out of heaven from God, all arrayed like a bride beautified and adorned for her husband;

Then I heard a mighty voice from the throne and I perceived its distinct words, saying, See! The abode of God is with men, and He will live (encamp, tent) among them; and they shall be His people, and God shall personally be with them and be their God. God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and death shall be no more, neither shall there be anguish (sorrow and mourning) nor grief nor pain any more, for the old conditions and the former order of things have passed away. And He Who is seated on the throne said, See! I make all things new.

Also He said, Record this, for these sayings are faithful (accurate, incorruptible, and trustworthy) and true (genuine). And He [further] said to me, It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To the thirsty I [Myself] will give water without price from the fountain (springs) of the water of Life. – Rev 21:1-6

WOW. This is nothing short of amazing. Jesus said to the woman at the well, that HE is the one who gives water.

Was God saying that NOW is the time, NOW is the moment? Was He saying that this heavenly city is descending. But how Lord? I needed to see this in the words of Jesus Christ. I needed to SEE Him say that He had done it and we could somehow receive it. I needed to be sure. Surely He had to have said it?! If He embodied all of this, then He WOULD have said it – for sure!!

Laying in my bed I suddenly remembered the verse. I ran as fast as I could to my pc. I think I was yelling as I ran, because if this was right, if the revelation I had just been given was right… then we truly are living in momentous times. Listen again to the verse above…

The abode of God is with men, and He will live (encamp, tent) among them; and they shall be His people, and God shall personally be with them and be their God. God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and death shall be no more, neither shall there be anguish (sorrow and mourning) nor grief nor pain any more, for the old conditions and the former order of things have passed away. – Rev 21:3-4

The fullness of these promises should rock you. You should be joining me in this story, this whodunnit, this adventure. If He proves beyond all doubt, then we are in momentous times. 🙂

I suddenly knew just where to find it in His words

For truly I say to you, if you have faith [that is living] like a grain of mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, Move from here to yonder place, and it will move; and nothing will be impossible to you. – Matt 17:20

What we need to know is where was He when He said these words?

Now when Jesus went into the region of Caesarea Philippi Matt 16:13

AND SIX days after this, Jesus took with Him Peter and James and John his brother, and led them up on a high mountain by themselves – Matt 17:1

When they were going about here and there in Galilee Matt 17:22

So Jesus had walked 6 days past Caesarea Philippi into the region of Galilee and He had just come down from a mountain – the transfiguration – and now He was pointing to a mountain and saying this mountain can be moved by faith in Himself as the Son of God and the Christ. That much is clear (tick!)

So what is the significance of this mountain that He refers to? At first glance, you may think it’s just a coincidence that Jesus used the words “mountain”. Judea has mountains. What about it?! But the revelation that I had in my bed was this: I could see Jesus at the foot of the same mountains mentioned in Isaiah, pointing to . What if this mountain that He was pointing to… what if that mountain was the same one that Isaiah was prophesying about?

As I ran to my PC, I knew I needed to read the verses before that statement to find out exactly WHERE Jesus was when He said those words. And yes… He was standing at the base on Mount Hermon, to the left of Damascus, north of the Seas of Galilee! I remember yelling and screaming at the top of my lungs when I confirmed this.

Ok… now I was excited, because I already knew my second and third questions. And if all three worked out to be yes, then we are living in MOMENTOUS times. My second question was this, when the exiles returned from Babylon, did this mountains block their way? And praise God the very next day I found a big expensive book on sale. How I found it, only God knows.

And that it had this image in it… praise God. I opened the Biblica Bible Atlas book and it almost fell open to page 350.

Jesus was pointing to the mountains that blocked the exiles return

Jesus was pointing to the mountains that blocked the exiles return

I was on the phone to my friend as I paged through the book that I had just found. When my eyes fell on the route the exiles had taken… I got so excited that I couldn’t contain myself. Jesus said that THIS mountain – the very one that had blocked the exiles from returning – could be removed by faith in His finished work on the cross.

jesus_foot_of_mt_hermon

Jesus was standing at the foot of Mt Hermon pointing to it

You can see this in the Biblica Bible Atlas on pg 53 for yourself. You really really should be getting and enlarged vision and be feeling excited now 🙂

I had two of my three questions confirmed. Only one to go. As I had run from my bed to my PC I had a question that needed to be answered. I needed to know if Paul taught the same as what Isaiah and Jesus had said. The key would be to see whether Paul had been using nouns when he spoke of the end of sin and death, or had Paul taught that Jesus Christ had only dealt with the verbs – not the nouns. We know Paul learned His revelation of the cross from God directly, so did God teach Paul that Jesus dealt with the THING (the noun) or just with our actions (the verb).

I raced to my pc, hoping to find just one or maybe three references to the noun. That would have been enough for me. Again I yelled and was utterly excited to discover that almost exclusively Paul taught about Jesus Christ having overcome the NOUN sin, NOT the verb. And so now suddenly I could understand why all the way back in Genesis we were told to “master sin” and in Romans it says we do master THE NOUN through Christ Jesus

But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must master it.” – Gen 4:7

For sin shall not be your master, because you are not under law, but under grace. – Rom 6:14

All three of my questions came back as confirming that Isaiah promised a completed work by the Christ, the Messiah, and that Jesus confirmed that even a teeny tiny amount of faith in Him can utterly remove the mountains blocking our return, even a tiny amount of faith unblocks the Highway of Holiness, unblocks the road back to Him for all people, unblocks the nouns of sin and death, release very great promises… have a look again!

The abode of God is with men, and He will live (encamp, tent) among them; and they shall be His people, and God shall personally be with them and be their God. God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and death shall be no more, neither shall there be anguish (sorrow and mourning) nor grief nor pain any more, for the old conditions and the former order of things have passed away. – Rev 21:3-4

Just a little faith – the size of a mustard seed – releases the finished work that Jesus Christ did on the cross. An absolute and complete release for the whole world. A new Heaven and Earth, the old things are ended.

That is why when God had me pray for the financial situation, He simply had me believe the following: the captivity is ended, the prosperity has been restored.

Yet will I reverse the captivity and restore the fortunes of Moab in the latter days, says the Lord. Thus far is the judgment on Moab. – Jer 48:47

That is ALL He had me pray, as I described here. And what happened? My little bit of faith the size of a mustard seed – combined with the faith of other praying people – combined we managed to move the mountain that blocked things!

So there it is… the pivotal few days, after years of exploring the bible… the pivotal few days that led to seeing things in a new way. You have it there. All the promises are yes and amen in Christ Jesus. The mountain that stops the full and complete return of God, sweeping away entirely the old order of violence and tears… that mountain can be remove by your faith in Christ Jesus.

Go through, go through the gates! Prepare the way for the people. Cast up, cast up the highway! Gather out the stones. Lift up a standard or ensign over and for the peoples.Is 62:10

An ensign is a banner, a thing that shows the people where the entrance is, which way to walk, where to come to. May God bless you as you decide what to do with this revelation, now, in your own life.

Rest assured, we are about to see momentous things in this world. The manifest presence of God in Jerusalem. When God used Cyrus to give orders to rebuild the temple, the temple foundation was laid twice and the exiles returned in waves, not in one group.

I believe that Paul and the disciples laid the foundation once long ago, but His people let their faith drop and the bible was removed from the world in about AD500. The bible was returned to the world in about AD1400 and from then onwards we have again had times of refreshing and revival. Now again the temple foundation is being laid, for a second time – just as .

God is fulfilling His prophecies in Isaiah and the blessing is for the entire world as He fulfills His words

The abode of God is with men, and He will live (encamp, tent) among them; and they shall be His people, and God shall personally be with them and be their God. God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and death shall be no more, neither shall there be anguish (sorrow and mourning) nor grief nor pain any more, for the old conditions and the former order of things have passed away. – Rev 21:3-4

We currently live in a world of sorrow and pain. What is the role for you in this world? How can you help this exiled world return to God?

For truly I say to you, if you have faith [that is living] like a grain of mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, Move from here to yonder place, and it will move; and nothing will be impossible to you. – Matt 17:20

Who is it who say to the mountain to move? Look again at His words.

The answer is the same as the answer to these questions. Who did He say is the light of the world now? Who is the salt in the earth? Who is fruit for those around them?

The answer to all these questions is: YOU. You and your faith in Christ Jesus on His cross, your faith in His complete overcoming and renewal of everything, that He paid for all sins, that He died in the place of everyone, that He is all and in all, that He has set aside and abolished sin, that He has annulled death, that He has made a new heavens and a new earth – every promise is yes and amen in Him.A completed work. As He said, it is finished!

Never forget… do not let low self esteem rob you of your God-given role in this world! It is your faith in Christ Jesus which overcomes the evil in this world!

For every child of God defeats this evil world, and we achieve this victory through our faith. – 1 John 5:4

May God bless you as you journey onwards.

This is a part of a series…

Please would you prayerfully consider helping me financially?

2 responses to “The highway of holiness for His people to return

  1. Pingback: Building the Holy City, the new Jerusalem | Faith. Hope. Love.·

What did you think of this post or this blog?

