Calm before the storm


I keep hearing these words every day or two “This is the calm before the storm”. I think significant change is coming. When I think about what the word “storm” means, I think it does not refer to calamity or hardship, but instead I think that it refers to a period of intense busy-ness with lots of people talking and wondering. I think whatever is about to change, people will be reacting to it and trying to figure it out.

It would be extremely exciting if what is about to happen is connected to the prayer that God has given me to speak out. His prayer is the whole of Zech 9, but especially in particular: Zech 9:9-12

9Rejoice greatly, O Daughter of Zion! Shout aloud, O Daughter of Jerusalem! Behold, your King comes to you; He is [uncompromisingly] just and having salvation [triumphant and victorious], patient, meek, lowly, and riding on a donkey, upon a colt, the foal of a donkey.

10And I will cut off and exterminate the war chariot from Ephraim and the [war] horse from Jerusalem, and the battle bow shall be cut off; and He shall speak the word and peace shall come to the nations,

and His dominion shall be from the [Mediterranean] Sea to [any other] sea, and from the River [Euphrates] to the ends of the earth!

11As for you also, because of and for the sake of the [covenant of the Lord with His people, which was sealed with sprinkled] covenant blood, I have released and sent forth your imprisoned people out of the waterless pit.

12Return to the stronghold [of security and prosperity], you prisoners of hope; even today do I declare that I will restore double your former prosperity to you.

If you wish, you can join me in this prayer. The key thing to notice is that the Messiah is described as coming on a donkey and we know that matches Jesus Christ in Matt 21. Then look at the wonderful promises and consequences that come from the Messiah Jesus Christ. There are even more promises in the rest of Zechariah 9. Check them out!

Thank You Lord.

