God’s heart revealed to me: believe!


About 1 or 2 weeks ago I woke up early and sat up in bed and felt God’s Presence. It was like I could see and feel what was on His heart. He gave me an impression that has been long lasting. His heart yearned. It was a longing. It felt like a parent who longed for His children to believe.

That one word: “believe” summed it all up.

One of my heroes is Smith Wigglesworth. Apparently he used to say “Just believe. Only believe.” I imagine He got the idea from Jesus Christ, Who said…

Ignoring what they said, Jesus told the synagogue ruler, “Don’t be afraid; just believe.” – Mark 5:36

But I was and still am astonished at the depth of His desire to be believed. I remember thinking that He felt that He had so many children, but they don’t stop and take the time to believe. He has spoken through Jesus Christ and we don’t stop and believe.

And I know that you do believe and I do believe, but now that I have seen His heart on this, I know that there is so much more that He has for us. I feel like treasures have been left on the shelf for eons and ages, treasures that could have been received by faith – simply by believing. But this kind of believing takes bravery and trust and boldness.

My friend Keith likes to remind us all that faith is what pleases God

But without faith it is impossible to please and be satisfactory to Him – Heb 11:6

And the opposite of that is: WITH faith you PLEASE Him. Keith believes that God is attracted to our faith and He is drawn near to us when we have faith, like a moth is attracted to a light.

This is confirmed in the Old Testament in Isaiah when 53 describing Christ the Messiah after He has suffered for us…

When You and He make His life an offering for sin [and He has risen from the dead, in time to come], He shall see His [spiritual] offspring… He shall see [the fruit] of the travail of His soul and be satisfied; by His knowledge of Himself [which He possesses and imparts to others] – Isa 53:10-12

The opposite of that is also true.  If we do not make His life an offering for sin, then He doesn’t see the fruit and His soul is NOT satisfied. 😦

Now that I have seen, felt and heard His heart, I am emboldened to really go for broke and believe. There is so much for us and the clear sense of sadness that I felt that so few children had heard His words and believed them. Certainly He loves us all no matter what, but I cannot forget how His heart was yearning for His kids to believe His words.

It sounded so much like a parent talking to His children. Yearning for the best for them. Wanting them to have everything He has for them. I felt so clearly that if I chose to believe all His words in the bible then it would be a wonderful thing for Him. He wants me to believe Him. It’s deeply personal for Him. He has been ignored a lot and so few people – including me – take His words to heart.

But this is the man to whom I will look and have regard: he who is humble and of a broken or wounded spirit, and who trembles at My word and reveres My commands. – Is 66:2

Hear the word of the Lord, you who tremble at His wordIs 66:5

Until that moment of revelation, I often thought of His DEMAND that we highly value His words, but now I hear a Parent deeply desiring and longing to be loved and listened to and valued by His kids. I thought we’d be struck down for not trembling. I had no idea that in fact He yearns to be listened to.

Yes of course He can appear in glory and scare us all with His Majesty – and I’ve experienced that – and that certainly would result in us worshipping and honoring Him. But His heart is for us to turn now and see His goodness and to listen to His words and believe. He wants to be believed. It’s to Him a sign of our respect and honor of Who He is to us. If we’d follow Him of our own free will, that makes Him satisfied, because what He went through on the cross for each and every one of us was not for nothing.

He went through pain for you to be free. If you never accept His sacrifice, you may never be free. So then what did He go through that for?

And conversely, if you accept His sacrifice, then you are validating the suffering He went through. He SEES the fruit. He feels satisfied.

He shall see [the fruit] of the travail of His soul and be satisfied; by His knowledge of Himself [which He possesses and imparts to others] – Isa 53:10-12

Until that experience I had never known how deeply He wants us to use our free will to willingly follow Him. I have resolved to ignore credit card bills and personal desires for intimacy, in order to follow Him and believe what He said He has done.

One response to “God’s heart revealed to me: believe!

  1. Pingback: The new prayer, day by day « Faith. Hope. Love.·

What did you think of this post or this blog?

