Charles Spurgeon’s comment about prayer leading to revival


I am in a season of prayer and I feel called to more and more of it. I find prayer to be quite lonely and I want the company of other people, so it’s hard to discipline myself to do it. But I saw this qu0te today and I felt to blog it…

Charles Spurgeon wrote a commentary on 1 Tim 5:5

The widow who is really in need and left all alone puts her hope in God and continues night and day to pray and to ask God for help. – 1 Tim 5:5

Charles wrote this…

“I have no confidence at all in polished speech or brilliant literary effort to bring about a re- vival, but I have all the confidence in the world in the poor saint who would weep her eyes out because people are living in sin.”

Wow huh? I began to wonder if every revival was preceded by long-term prayer. I suspect it would be, but in my reading about revival I’d not seen any clear tracked, sustained, evidence of it. Then I found this page via Google on my first try, I just knew that the Holy Spirit pointed it out.

Dr A. T. Pierson once said, ‘There has never been a spiritual awakening in any country or locality that did not begin in united prayer.’

I believe the Holy Spirit led me directly to that page, which has a description of the prayer movements that led to the revivals that we know about. That article has insightful information about 1776-1781, 1792-1800, 1858-1860, 1904-1905,

Clearly, a suffering society causes people to reach out to Jesus Christ, and that persistent and sustained urgent prayer is what births revivals. Will you join me in that kind of prayer?

