Loving, asking and our joy


Previously I was praying for a friend and I saw God speak to me in a very short vision. He said “Ask Me for things for her”. So I did. I felt absolutely sure that He heard me and now I’m excited to see those things happen in her life. Within days these tings began to arrive in her life.

Right after that prayer for her, I began wondering about asking for myself. As I continued to research scripture for this book I ran into this verse…

Joh 14:13-14  Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it.

And when I saw this, my evening changed. I sat back in amazement. I feel absolutely sure that He is speaking to me, to ask Him for anything and He will do it. The other scripture that keeps coming to mind is the ones about joy. I just looked them up, they are also connected to verses about asking.

Joh 15:7-10  If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples. As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love.

Joh 15:11 These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.

Joh 15:12-14  “This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends. You are my friends if you do what I command you.

Joh 15:15-16  No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you. You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you. These things I command you, so that you will love one another.

In those verses three things seem connected: loving, asking and joy. If we love, we may ask and then we will receive joy.

Jesus is excited at me experiencing the joy He had in His life as He served His Father, and as He loved people and did the miraculous. He is saying to me to ask and it will be done.

There are so many things I want to ask for, but I see that it must be connected to my decision to love others as myself. That’s no problem, I am in ministry every day with the purpose of loving other people. I need things and I’d like to have His joy in my life, that’s for sure. I could ask for so many things. Wisdom seems like a good one to ask for, because so many good things can come from that. Money is in short supply, I need that to be able to continue loving people.

But I know exactly what I want to ask for. The fullness of the Holy Spirit to overflowing from within me to the people around me. I desperately need His Spirit of Truth within me, I need Him to be my Helper…

Joh 14:14-17  If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it. “If you love me, you will keep my commandments. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Helper, to be with you forever, even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, for he dwells with you and will be in you.

Joh 15:26 “But when the Helper comes, whom I will send to you from the Father, the Spirit of truth, who proceeds from the Father, he will bear witness about me.

I need my Helper so that this book receives the correction that it needs. I need the Spirit of Truth to clearly bear witness to Jesus Christ so that this book contains no significant theological error and so that I can enter into everything Jesus Christ has said He has for me, every spiritual gift in Heaven.

I’m also asking for a car, for money, for petrol, for debts to be paid, for a spirit of self control/self-discipline, for a help-mate (I mentioned her needs in me and my needs in her), for my body to be lean, and especially to have the joy of Jesus Christ within me. I’m also asking to be used to spread God’s glory and to spread His Name and fame and goodness to all corners of the globe. To filled to with the fullness of God the Father, Holy Spirit and the Son to overflowing for the sake of everyone around me. I’m asking that I’m made into a new creation, a new creature, clean in body, soul and spirit; and that Jesus Christ is so manifest within me that it is no longer I that live, but Jesus Christ lives in me – and people can see Him. I’m asking especially that I be used in all the world – and as I pray this I can see light throughout the whole world, I feel like I can see the whole world.

I keep asking that Jesus Christ’s joy be in me and that I’m not left as an orphan here, which is how I feel sometimes, but I am where He is and He is in me. I’m asking that I’m totally and manifestly free from death until that day comes (Mat 16:28, Mark 9:1, Luke 9:27).

And lastly this scripture comes to mind…

Mar 11:24-25 Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours. And whenever you stand praying, forgive, if you have anything against anyone, so that your Father also who is in heaven may forgive you your trespasses.”

So after praying and experiencing a lovely intimacy with God and forgiving others, I opened my eyes to see Romans 4:22 in my bible nearby

Romans 4:22 That is why his faith was “counted to him as righteousness.”

Thank You Lord! The full passage reads…

Rom 4:20-22  No distrust made him waver concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong in his faith as he gave glory to God, fully convinced that God was able to do what he had promised. That is why his faith was “counted to him as righteousness.”

I feel the same as a famous evangelist once said of His own baptism in the Holy Spirit – and the resulting revival that came after that – I know that the wood has been prepared and it is in place and now I’m just waiting for the fire to come. I feel as he did.

Off to sleep now. Waiting for the fire to come. I’m excited. I’ve asked that the experience be warm and gentle and that I’m not scared, not hit with any force. I long to receive this and then give it away to others. I can’t wait for this part of my life to begin, led by my Helper, the Spirit of truth manifestly within a new me which is freed from death and filled with the same joy that Jesus Christ had.

As I said these words in prayer, I remembered how God had said to me that my life “with Him” would totally change at this time in my life. And now I see why. Amen. Let it be so Lord Jesus Christ.

Taken from…

ms_word_iconBook: If My people (v33!) (1.1MB) – A free daily devotional which is under development. +-150 pages.

What did you think of this post or this blog?

