A faith which affects the world around you


I look immensely forward to a time when my faith has grown further and sickness cannot resist and it too must flee. I long for that time. I know it is just a matter of time before it occurs, because by spending time beholding His glory on the cross, my faith is building and building, affecting the world around me. Every week my faith grows as I perceive the things that He did on the cross as “real fact”. This is happening more and more.

Years ago the Holy Spirit once showed me an image of me climbing a ladder up to a diving board. He made it clear that the longer I continue climbing the ladder, the higher I will dive from. So I aim to stay climbing that ladder for the rest of my life.

I know that an overcoming faith comes from focussing on Him and His cross…

1Co 2:2 For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified.

Here is another scripture from Paul confirming this…

Php 3:7-10 But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith– that I may know him and the power of his resurrection…

There you have it… Paul says “that I may know him and the power of his resurrection” and that is where the most powerful build-up of faith is to be found.

Intimacy with the Father is great, fellowship of the Holy Spirit is truly wonderful, powerful worship resulting in God’s manifest Presence is a wonderful experience… but Paul counted all of that as loss… he said “I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord”.

The New Testament points to and explains the finished work of Jesus Christ on His cross. The Old Testament points to and explains the finished work of Jesus Christ as He fulfilled all the promises on the cross. All the promises are yes and amen. They are completed…

“For as many as are the promises of God, they all find their Yes

in Him [Christ]. For this reason we also utter the Amen (so be it) to God through Him [in His Person and by His agency] to the glory of God” – 2 Cor 1:20

Not one promise has been left out. All of them are already yes and amen in Jesus Christ. To expect Him to return and to do more work is to deny the finished work on the cross.

Taken from…

ms_word_iconBook: If My people (v33!) (1.1MB) – A free daily devotional which is under development. +-150 pages.

