The exact imprint of the Father, I AM, El, Ab, Counsellor


Let’s go back to something I wrote earlier, that He is the exact likeness of our Father God. This is confirmed in the OT, because Isaiah prophetically wrote that He would be called our Eternal (or Everlasting) Father…

Isa 9:6 For to us a child is born, to us a son is given; and the government shall be upon his shoulder, and his name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

Jesus then confirmed this by saying to His disciples that if they have seen Him then they have seen the Father.

Joh 14:7-9 If you had known me, you would have known my Father also. From now on you do know him and have seen him.” Philip said to him, “Lord, show us the Father, and it is enough for us.” Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?

There it is, Jesus confirms that He and the Father are One, if we see Him, we see the Father. That is why I am cautious of any movement or indeed people who habitually pray to “father” rather than to Jesus Christ, or movements that ignore Jesus Christ and focuss instead on the Father God. Jesus IS the Father and He is the only way to the Father. We need not de-focus on Jesus Christ in order to have the Father, because He is the Eternal/Everlasting Father according to Isaiah 6:9.

Jesus then goes on to emphasize that the Father dwells in Him, and anyone who makes this specific connection that they are exactly One – and doesn’t deviate from it – will go on to do greater things than He did…

Joh 14:10-12 Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own authority, but the Father who dwells in me does his works.

Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, or else believe on account of the works themselves. “Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father.

Jesus Christ had previously – 7 chapters earlier – begun our understanding that He is the “I AM” which is a direct reference to when God revealed Himself to Abraham…

Exo 3:14 God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.” And he said, “Say this to the people of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.’”

Joh 8:58 Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I AM.”

So the likeness of Jesus Christ to the Father God is more than just a mirror image, but there is an actual and exact One-ness between them, with the Father dwelling within Jesus Christ as He walked this earth. By saying He is the “I AM” Jesus Christ IS the Father God Who was speaking to Abraham – while still remaining a separate Person.

This really matters to us when we are considering what He did on the cross, because if He is the exact likeness of our Father God then we can discover many things about Jesus Christ by considering His Names…

Heb 1:3 He is the radiance of the glory of God and the exact imprint of his nature

That One-ness extends to the Holy Spirit, because Jesus Christ said “I will come to you” and then in the same breath He said that He will send the Holy Spirit (which He then did at Pentecost). So the One-ness extends from Jesus Christ to the Father God and also to the Holy Spirit. That is why His Name is called “Wonderful Counsellor” in Isa 9:6, as well as Ab and El.

Let’s focus on Jesus Christ as the promised fullness of God Himself. As I have already shown, Isaiah makes many prophetic promises of the coming Messiah (who then came as Jesus Christ)…

Isa 9:6 For to us a child is born, to us a son is given; and the government shall be upon his shoulder, and his name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

In that passage is the word “God” and the Hebrew has the word “El”. This is a primitive word and many compound names for God often include that root word, such as Elohim, El-Elyon and so on. El means “mighty” and is only used in the bible as a plural word. So we know the promised Messiah would be the exact imprint of El. That is profound, don’t you think?

But take a look at this… Isaiah promised that this “child” would be called “Everlasting Father” and that word “Father” is “Ab” in the Hebrew. It is the primitive word. The very first word, H1! Let’s read what Strong’s Concordance has to say about this primary Hebrew word…

H1, אב, ‘âb, awb

A primitive word; father in a literal and immediate, or figurative and remote application: – chief, (fore-) father ([-less]), X patrimony, principal. Compare names in “Abi-”

This is a profound promise that Isaiah was making, that one of the names of the promised Christ would be “Ab”, the first Hebrew word… “H1”.

And this prepare things well as the key basic observation to underpin the points I am making in the next few chapters. If Jesus Christ was Ab and El… then He reflected the exact imprint of El and Ab.

To find out more about El and Ab, we simply need to investigate His other Names further… and as we know more about El and Ab, we will know more about Jesus Christ… His exact imprint… and I am sure that as we behold Him, we will come to know ourselves more and more too.

It feels strange to be using and writing about such revered Names of God. But I know that God loves us and is drawing us to Himself. We are coming home to Him, as the prodigal sons and daughters. So let’s humbly explore the interconnectedness between the promises made about our Father God and Jesus Christ on the cross – His exact imprint.

Taken from…

ms_word_iconBook: If My people (v35!) (1+MB) – A free daily devotional which is under development. 167 pages.

One response to “The exact imprint of the Father, I AM, El, Ab, Counsellor

What did you think of this post or this blog?

