Seek first the righteousness that Jesus Christ HAS provided


Now that I have come through this time of oppression and testing, I am looking at scripture with a simplicity… perhaps a childlike simplicity… and it just seems so obvious to me.

For example, if Jesus Christ said “here are the keys to heaven on earth” and then He presented us with the keys… then why on earth do we spend our time doing any prayer apart from those keys? It’s so simple. It’s like a dad coming to his teenage son saying “son, I’m giving you my card and the pin”… what do you expect to see next? For sure the son will go withdraw cash and use that cash. When he runs out, he goes to withdraw more. So why isn’t the church withdrawing like crazy? Our Lord and Master told us what the keys are… why isn’t this world full of heaven here on earth?

Another thing that seems so obvious to me now… seek first the righteousness…

Matt 6:33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

Sin released death into this world and we are trapped in this mess. As Isaiah says, the devil won’t let his captives return to God (Is 14:12-17). If sin is the problem then righteousness is the solution… but we cannot provide our own righteousness. But it is needed. And we can’t make it for ourselves.Our best efforts are dirty rags. So what do we do? How are we to be released from the clutches of the devil?

There are two profound references to the righteousness of God as revealed by Jesus Christ…

2 Cor 5:21 God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.

Jesus Christ became sin… for us. And we became the righteousness of God.

Wow. Gulp. I thought I understood that before. I even wrote about it. But now, with God having pressed some kind of rest button in my brain, I really get it.

Rom 5:21 So that, [just] as sin has reigned in death, [so] grace (His unearned and undeserved favor) might reign also through righteousness (right standing with God) which issues in eternal life through Jesus Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One) our Lord

If you missed that, you missed the whole thing… I kid you not… because Adam sinned, death reigned. But now, because of Jesus Christ’s one act of righteousness, now grace reigns (not death). Wow. Did you get that? I got that before… I wrote about it in my book. But I’m looking these words with a new… simplicity.

Seek first… and then these things are added to you. Seek first… the righteousness that Jesus Christ HAS PROVIDED. The consequence of the righteousness that He provided is nothing less than the end of sin and death, the end of the reign of death… the increase of the reign of grace.

I know that some people may look around them and ask “where is it if you say He did it”. And that’s where we come back to “here are the keys to heaven on earth”…

Mat 16:19 I will give you the keys of the Kingdom of heaven; and

whatever you bind (declare to be improper and unlawful) on earth must be what is already bound in Heaven; and

whatever you loose (declare lawful) on earth must be what is already loosed in heaven

I’m just stunned at what happened on the cross… aren’t you?

What did you think of this post or this blog?

