When unprofitable servants are served


I consider it a profound priveledge to be invited to pray for the bride of Jesus Christ, knowing that the times we live in are so important. His words are “Get ready for the marriage of the Lamb” and that means it’s time to go out into the highways and byways and call everyone in who is willing to come! It’s time to trim your wick and make sure you have enough oil. It’s time to be alert and stay alert.

And so when I pray for His bride-to-be, I feel deeply honored. And then I see Him excitedly working on my own bride-to-be. I haven’t understood this image until I felt to come and login at this (expensive) internet. I wasn’t sure what I was here for. And then I saw it. Take a look: When Unprofitable Servants are Served

The two passages that blow me away are these…

Yet as I was reading through the book of Luke recently, I was struck with two passages that exactly speak to what I’ve been feeling about this season of awakening.

I was reading in Luke 17, and ran across this in verses 7-10:

And which of you, having a servant plowing or tending sheep, will say to him when he has come in from the field, ‘Come at once and sit down to eat’? But will he not rather say to him, ‘Prepare something for my supper, and gird yourself and serve me till I have eaten and drunk, and afterward you will eat and drink’? Does he thank that servant because he did the things that were commanded him? I think not. So likewise you, when you have done all those things which you are commanded, say, ‘We are unprofitable servants. We have done what was our duty to do.’

If I may venture an interpretation of this analogy, I think of “plowing” as laboring in the place of prayer, and “tending sheep” as taking care of the daily pastoral needs of the people of God

and he continues…

He is the Creator. We are the created. We were the fallen. He is the Redeemer. We have zero leverage to begin haggling for our fair share of the pie, because we are just “unprofitable servants”. We brought nothing to the relationship, so we can demand nothing of it. Entitlement has no place. Prideful self-aggrandizing has no place. We obey God, not because we are building credit and earning favor from Him, but because it is right for us to do so.

As I read this passage, it gave me pause. I understood all right what Jesus was saying, but I was sure I had read a parable with a much different angle just a few chapters earlier…

I flipped back in my Bible a page or two and found it in Luke 12:36-37:

…and you yourselves be like men who wait for their master, when he will return from the wedding, that when he comes and knocks they may open to him immediately. Blessed are those servants whom the master, when he comes, will find watching. Assuredly, I say to you that he will gird himself and have them sit down to eat, and will come and serve them.

He continues…

There is something very important to notice about this passge: This is not normal. What’s normal is what we see Jesus talking about in chapter 17 (the passage I cited above). Servants do their master’s bidding because it’s their job. The master doesn’t fall all over himself to reward the servants for doing what he hired/bought them to do in the first place. Especially in the ancient Near East, no one would ever expect otherwise.

But when Jesus is telling us what He is like, we see that He is not the kind of master who sets us to work without a nod of thanks. He is the kind of Master who serves us. He owes us nothing, and we owe Him unceasing gifts of our time and energy. But He actually stoops down to feed us and strengthen us, even though we have absolutely zero entitlement to such treatment. He doesn’t just provide the meal, either — He Himself gets His hands dirty, so to speak, going above and beyond any expectation to serve us and lavish affection on us. He is not distant, only concerned with preserving His rank; He is meek and lowly (Matt 11:29), and He joyfully sets about serving His “unprofitable servants”.

I had never seen or understood this before. You see, under the law we are unprofitable and we can never match up. And as Paul says we do not do away with the law, we UPHOLD the law.

But because of Jesus Christ, we now have a Saviour who understands us. So now I can understand why I am so overjoyew to be serving and then I’m stunned to see Him serving me. I couldn’t understand it. Until now.

Not only is this a wonderful time to be alive, but we are seeing something new, new depth.

2 responses to “When unprofitable servants are served

  1. Pingback: My prayer for His bride, will you join in? « Faith + Hope + Love·

  2. Yes! Reminds of Feet washing and why Jesus did it first. It’s a shame this is not practiced in every church. We learn so much from the example he gave us. We are so blessed!

What did you think of this post or this blog?

