How to work towards justice in the Earth?


I sometimes bump into people who have such religious views on the scripture that they can’t actually see the one command we were explicitly and overtly given by Jesus Christ is this: to love one another. There is no other instance where He explicitly is recorded as saying “This is my command” and in John He says it… and He says it 5 times. I think He was making a big loud clear point.

And recently a very strong Christian man I know met with the mayor’s office in the city I live in. The mayor’s office observed that 20 years ago the church was the main voice for what needed to get done and improved in society. Where living standards are poor, when apartheid needed to be abolished, where homeless people needed help… on these things and more the church spoke up and forced change.

But the mayor’s office observed to my friend that the church no longer has an activist voice and now the complaints and pressure for change only comes from secular sources…

The person specifically mentioned “The daily voice” which originally had the slogan “Sex, Scandal, Skinder and Sport and page 3 girls” and now more recently has the slogan “We are afraid of nothing” and they raise social issues.

Plus other rubbish…

THIS is the voice of activism? THIS is what pressure politicians to change? THIS is what the voice of the church has been replaced by? Are you kidding me?

That (above) is the infamous headline of the paper which His People Church spokesperson Errol Naidoo has already branded the “Daily Vice”. Errol is heading up the “Family Policy Institute” and he is making an impact, praise God with me!

Mike Bickle at IHOP has a project called Luke 18…

Our vision is that through persistent prayer and fasting the Lord will bring speedy justice (Luke 18:7).  There are many injustices in our land (ie: abortion, human trafficking, murder).  We believe the Prayer Furnaces that burn with passion for Jesus, which are being established on college campuses today, will bring forth the cry the Lord desires as He overturns the wrongs in our world and ultimately returns to establish His Kingdom (Rev. 22:17).

Churches have been taught by the Holy Spirit to grow their numbers and some may think that larger numbers meant greater influence… but the numbers were gained by “me-too-ism” and by spending money and being apolitical and terminally nice.

And if the attendees are trained to be “nice” then what kind of impact will you have? Very little. And not radical… our Savior was utterly radical.

And into this mix comes Mike Bicke’s IHOP teaching on the “false justice movement“, his teaching notes are here.

A FALSE JUSTICE MOVEMENT

A.    “The present social justice movement is preparing the poor of the earth to receive the Anti-Christ!” (Rev 13:16-17)

B.    The subject of justice is often fueled by sentiment and political platforms rather than truth. There is emerging in the earth a false justice movement that is rooted in politics and humanism and devoid of the apostolic revelation of Jesus Christ.  If we do not address the issue of social justice the way the Scripture answers the issues, believers will drift and neglect our great salvation (Heb 2:1).

C.    The growing social justice movement is fueled by humanism, the seeds of which cause the questioning of the sufficiency of the gospel of the kingdom. (The person of Christ, cross, the Lake of Fire, inward transformation through repentance, etc)

I’m not saying I have the answer. I don’t think I agree with Mike Bickle’s view… but I welcome the urgent need to discuss how each and every one of us can take part in fulfilling His command to us: to love one another! I haven’t read this, but it seems interesting and relevant: Disruptive religion: the force of faith in social-movement activism – By Christian Smith. And don’t kid yourself that this is an African problem. One in 6 people in the USA is living in poverty. Tent cities have sprung up everywhere.
Some things I’m considering…
  • Here where I live we are beginning a “prayer furnace”
  • I’m thinking of setting up a facebook group for everyone to join in so we can target prayer to certain things
  • I’m also considering having a day of the week where anyone can post in prayer requests to this blog and it will be garuanteed to receive intercessory prayer.
2010 will see a mushrooming of spiritual activity – which is already statistically visible – and we can all pitch in. Intercession can break open areas and bondage, but we need people to GO, we need to get into missions, we need evangelists to be sent out… our intercessory prayers can open the way, but then people have to go. The time is over for you – the pastor, the minister, the leader – to be building huge churches of sedentary attendees, it’s time to be speaking words to them about going out into the higways and byways to invite people in for the marriage of the Lamb
34“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me. 37“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ 40“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.41Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’ 44“They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’ 45“He will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.‘ – Matt 25:35-45
2 responses to “How to work towards justice in the Earth?

  1. I am soooooo glad to hear other Christians proclaiming the truth about how the church has dropped the ball…and a BIG ball it is! Many people look at the church and see a self-centered organization…with little faith but a big mouth legislatively. A church that is not “abiding till He comes”. I have even read some of the things Christian authors have said that I can’t believe…such as, it is ok to “rape” the earth since it is temporary anyway. OH, yeah…that is really love all right! :-< How can we show the love of God and rape the earth at the same time! Loving God is NOT an isolated act. We cannot say we love God and then treat His creation with such disrespect and ignorance. IF I am truly loving then I will do what I can to make sure that what my children, my family, my neighbors and everyone else are eating healthy food and drinking healthy water and breathing healthy air. Jesus Himself was FIRST concerned with peoples health and human needs before He started on spiritual things…He knew one could not be approached without the other. He knew that you cannot preach the Love of God to a person that is starving or sick. "The greatest of these is Love." "Faith without works is DEAD"

    Thank you….

  2. Great post, brother! Reading this made me think of “Simply Christian” by N.T. Wright. May God help us find our voice!

What did you think of this post or this blog?

