A time of renewal


I woke up this morning with the national anthem of NZ singing loudly in my thoughts.

God of nations! at Thy feet
In the bonds of love we meet,
Hear our voices, we entreat,
God defend our Free Land.
NZ National Anthem

It was like I was in a stadium with tens of thousands of voices singing in unison. It was great! It stuck in there and I began to sing it for the next hour or two. And I realised that I was interceding for NZ as I sang it.

Last night was amazing. 13 Christians gathered to worship and pray. It was nothing short of incredible.

During our time together I was given this 3-part prayer. The first two parts…

1 In that day,
the LORD will punish with his sword,
his fierce, great and powerful sword,
Leviathan the gliding serpent,
Leviathan the coiling serpent;
he will slay the monster of the sea (dragon).

2 In that day—
“Sing about a fruitful vineyard:
3
I, the LORD, watch over it;
I water it continually.
I guard it day and night
so that no one may harm it.

Is 27:1-3

and the third part is a few verses later…

In days to come Jacob will take root,
Israel will bud and blossom
and fill all the world with fruit.
Is 27:6

I see in these verses the same three things He has shown me over and over… three things:

  1. The Leviathon is now being struck
  2. God has a fruitful vineyard that He is watering and continually protecting so that no one may harm it
  3. All the world will shortly be filled with fruit

Some may think that the Leviathon is being struck through the church, but He has repeatedly shown that it is He, Himself Who is standing up and it is His sword (“fierce, great and powerful sword”) which is striking. And He specifically takes responsibility for it saying…

Then the Assyrian shall fall by a sword not of man; and a sword, not of men [but of God], shall devour him. – Is 31:8

And He works through us to rebuild into His image. And this is why I see this as a time of renewal, of rebuilding the formerly devastated cities, as Isaiah prophesied…

And they shall rebuild the ancient ruins;
they shall raise up the former desolations and
renew
the ruined cities, the devastations of many generations. – Is 61:4

It is God Himself Who brings us low, not man, not men… but it is Him working through us Who will lift us up beyond where we were… into new life.

This is a time of renewal.

