I am the vine you are the branches


It is so important that we understand that Jesus Christ warned us… we can do nothing apart from Him. And I hope you can see why. You can’t buy this. You can’t earn it. You can only receive it as a free gift from Jesus Christ.

Nothing that we try to do can come close to comparing to what Jesus Christ has already done on the cross, which is simply waiting for us to receive it.

This is absolutely Jesus Christ-centric, without Him we can’t have these gifts, we are still sinners, we are still separated from God, we are not like Him, we are not where He is… none of the promises in the bible are yes and amen for us!

Jesus said that it is only when we are on the Vine (Jesus Christ) that we can bear fruit…

I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser. – Joh 15:1

Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. – Joh 15:4-5

By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples. – Joh 15:8

The authority we have, the identity we have, our spiritual position above all powers, throne, dominions, authorities and above every name that can be named… it all comes from Jesus Christ and can only be attained by giving up our own lives (through faith) and becoming hidden in Him (through faith).

2 responses to “I am the vine you are the branches

  1. Hi Mark.
    It is so true that as humans we think we have to BUY everything: that there is no such thing as a free lunch.

    When I was young I obeyed every rule of the Roman Catholic Church, trying to EARN favour with God. I was about to become a nun early 1959 but in June 1958 I heard the true Gospel message for the first time and came face to face with my Saviour. What a dramatic change! What a relief to find that everything was already DONE and that I couldn’t add a single thing to Christ’s FINISHED work on Calvary.

    He is indeed the Vine. It is because of this – because the same sap that flows through the Vine also flows through the branches – His life in us – that we can live victorious Christian lives.

What did you think of this post or this blog?

