Ok, one more time – let’s pray for Afghanistan


I had a bad day yesterday. I didn’t listen to my inner self during the week, I over-extended myself emotionally. So I thought I’d hole up and lick my wounds.

So I was VERY surprised to sense this morning that on monday let’s all pray for Afghanistan. I was surprised, because I think – in my human wisdom – that I should be taking care of myself and not further over-extending?

But apparently not. Apparently when we are weak, He is seen to be strong.

But He said to me, My grace (My favor and loving-kindness and mercy) is enough for you [sufficient against any danger and enables you to bear the trouble manfully];

for My strength and power are made perfect (fulfilled and completed) andshow themselves most effective in [your] weakness.

Therefore, I will all the more gladly glory in my weaknesses and infirmities, that the strength and power of Christ (the Messiah) may rest (yes, maypitch a tent over and dwell) upon me! – 2 Cor 12:9

If it was me who was strong and capable, you’d be impressed with me. But if you know I am a recovering addict, a recovering emotional mess, a recovering everything… then you can only give the glory to One Person: Jesus Christ.

So when I am weak, you KNOW that it is Jesus Christ Who is the strong One.

First, some context:

A year ago the Pakistan-based Taliban faction known as the Quetta shura rejected negotiations with Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai unless all U.S. NATO forces first withdrew; it appeared confident that the war was going its way. – Could a deal with the Taliban end the war in Afghanistan? – Washington Post, Thursday, October 7, 2010

Then this morning when I saw this article, I knew why it’s important that we pray on Monday. Peace is within reach in Afghanistan!

KANDAHAR, Afghanistan — President Hamid Karzai is in southern Afghanistan meeting with tribal elders from across Kandahar province where troops are conducting operations to rout insurgents from areas they have long controlled.

A reporter for The Associated Press confirmed that the Afghan president was in Arghandab district Saturday where more than 200 tribal leaders have assembled to see him. – USA TodayAfghan president meets with tribal elders in south (posted 8 minutes ago!)

And

Both the Afghan and US governments have recently made contact with the most fearsome insurgent group in Afghanistan, the Haqqani network, the Guardian has learned… “The Quetta Shura is still important but not as much as people thought two years ago. Its prestige and impact have waned, and they are increasingly less important on the battlefield. Now the military threat comes from the Haqqanis,” the official said. – US and Afghan governments make contact with Haqqani insurgents – The Guardian, Thursday 7 October 2010

And

extremists were ‘in high-level talks with Karzai government.’ The Post claimed that the talks were aimed to ‘end the war in Afghanistan‘ and that the sources believe that ‘Taliban representatives are fully authorized to speak for the Quetta Shura, the Afghan Taliban organization based in Pakistan, and its leader Mullah Omar.’ – The Huffington Post

And

Secret talks in Afghanistan – Al Jazeera learns of talks in Kabul involving Afghan, Pakistani and Taliban officials. – Last Modified: 04 Oct 2010

Afghan peace council holds meeting – Panel set up for reconciliation with Taliban holds first session amid criticism over its composition. – Last Modified: 07 Oct 20

Afghanistan, US “in contact with Haqqani insurgents” – The group is loyal to the Taliban and has been blamed for some of the most deadly strikes in Afghanistan – AFP, October 7, 2010

Always remember, we are praying for peace for real people with real families trying to live real lives…

So let’s pray for Afghanistan, today, tomorrow – but especially on Monday. And then when things go great, give Jesus Christ the glory!


This is a part of a series…

Would you like to intercede for peace in your country or in the world? All you need to do is get a map of the area you want to pray for and get this list of scriptures (or download the MS Word version) and speak each scripture out over the area you are praying for. It’s as easy as that.

 

What did you think of this post or this blog?

