Praying for the USA – or others


I have been thinking about praying for the USA. My consistent thought is that our prayers will impact that country greatly. For the better (from God’s perspective of course).

I know that God is Sovereign and He alone owns every soul. He is Sovereign over all. Every country is His. BUT. I also know that He puts leaders in authority (and removes them when necessary). And I remember reading that a leading US politician once said “we don’t like to be surprised”.

So I’m cautiously thinking about whether the USA wants to be prayed for. Or if any country in particular would like to be prayed for?

Freely I have received, freely I am willing to give…

Cure the sick, raise the dead, cleanse the lepers, drive out demons. Freely (without pay) you have received, freely (without charge) give. – Matthew 10:8

I cannot (yet) raise the (individual) dead, but I DO appear to be able to pray for countries! That is pretty well established by the evidence on this blog. Rain for dry land, peace for warring countries, lower sickness rates, lower murder rates.

Can I pray impartially before an election? Well… I do have opinions on everything and I try to be extremely well read… but my prayers are spiritual and they are totally impartial and a-political. I have my own opinions, but I know I don’t have all the facts available and I don’t take sides – other than God’s side, as revealed in Jesus Christ on His cross when He showed us His nature as He looked at those who were killing Him and He said…

And Jesus prayed, Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do. – Luke 23:34

If you want to be prayed for, let me know. You might have to struggle through a few layers of nay-sayers… but persist! If you want me to pray for you, I DO want to pray for you!

Would you like to intercede for peace in your country or in the world? All you need to do is get a map of the area you want to pray for and get this list of scriptures (or download the MS Word version) and speak each scripture out over the area you are praying for. It’s as easy as that.

3 responses to “Praying for the USA – or others

  1. Please, please, please pray for the USA. I believe that God made this country prosperous so that we could carry out the message of the gospel to the world but we have failed in our own country. So very many people in this country go to church but there is so little love, or compassion. There is alot of religion, but not much relationship with Jesus Christ. Please pray that God would open up the eyes of those people who call themselves Christ followers, so that they would allow the Holy Spirit to control their lives. This is what I believe could bring real change to this country.

    • I totally see where your heart is coming from. Totally.

      But if you see the impact of the prayers we are praying, then you can appreciate that they are having a significant impact. I get the feeling it would be better if people invited God to change them, rather than have it pushed onto them.

      Jesus almost always ASKED people if they wanted to be healed. Don’t you think?

What did you think of this post or this blog?

