May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.


Long ago I was so deeply unhappy at what I was seeing in the Spirit, it was like a heavy weight, a burden. I literally felt like collapsing from the emotional impact.

I (secretly) wanted to go and hide away, not tell anyone anything. Within a week or so a person prayed and said out loud “Lord don’t let Mark be a Jonah and refuse to give his message”. I was busted. God knew what was in my heart.

In the past few weeks I have repeatedly seen a vision. A few days ago the meaning of the vision came to me. I audibly heard a phrase “far off land” and felt to search for that phrase in Isaiah (where else?) I found the vision in Isaiah 13.

We are right on the edge of this. I have no idea what will unfold, other than it will be a dramatic change. I don’t think there is any point in going into this and speculating. (See Babylon to fall by 7 Sept 2011)

God always gives us a way out of what is coming

So in the past I have repeatedly urged people to build a shield of faith. I have repeatedly explained that we need to be sheep and seek the Shepherding of Jesus Christ and not be goats who have self reliance.

Reinhard Bonnke in his FB page puts it so well:

When a philosopher has toothache, his philosophy won’t help him – but a dentist. When people need forgiveness of sins, salvation, nobody but Jesus is the SAVIOR. Nobody but Jesus died on the cross for the sins of the world. NOBODY BUT JESUS SAVES. Greetings from Nigeria. REINHARD BONNKE.

Through the power of the Holy Spirit you have seen what Jesus Christ can do – bring the blessing of water, stop hurricanes, stop financial crisis, stop wars, bless economies and many more things.

Those things were meant to show the goodness of God to people SO THAT people will turn around…

Or do you show contempt for the riches of his kindness, forbearance and patience, not realizing that God’s kindness is intended to lead you to repentance?Rom 2:4

But I see absolutely no signs of political change, no signs of a country-wide prayer shield going up, no signs of corporate repentance at a political level.

And now we stand at the very edge, on the precipice. A few toes are already over the edge. The edge itself is crumbling away.

It looks like the Holy Spirit was right, when He showed me Josiah. Even after all of Josiah’s reforms the people went right back to their old ways (see What happened to Josiah?). Despite all the demonstrations of God’s ability, nothing has changed.

As I wrote in that post (5 April 2010)…

The judgement is imminent. Months away. The locusts are coming and the harvest will not come in. We did not learn from the last failure of the harvest, we did not change our ways, we did not soften our hearts!

We could have changed, I wrote in that post that He is willing to relent…

“Yet even now,” declares the LORD, “return to me with all your heart, with fasting, with weeping, and with mourning; and rend your hearts and not your garments.” Return to the LORD your God, for he is gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love; and

he relents over disaster. Who knows whether he will not turn and relent, and leave a blessing behind him, a grain offering and a drink offering for the LORD your God? – Joe 2:12-14

I urged political leadership to change in this post: Leaders you are not powerless. I made it clear that the change is required at a political level, it’s not about the church.

Having seen that political leadership will not budge, no matter how much blessing is poured out, I wondered if our faith (the church) can solve the problem. So I began to teach about our faith overcoming the evil of this world. I droned on and on about it. Remember?

I made a FB “prayer furnace”. I made several Facebook groups and pages – trying to get people to use their faith to change the course of events.

I used a tool to look up FB people who are writing about revival and Holy Spirit outpourings and for leaders – and I befriended them via FB. Then FB refused to let me become friends with some people… even refusing to connect me to people I actually DO know!

What came of all this effort to reach out to the church? Nada.

The race…

More than two years ago I wrote on this blog that I felt we were in a “race”. Would we listen and hear and change, or would we not?

The image I have of this race yesterday and today is like a greyhound race. Which greyhound would win? If change won, then we could avoid the coming trouble. If hard headedness won, then we face immense trouble.

I hoped and wished that our race was a dead heat, that anything could happen…

Go you good thing!

So who won? I will explain that later in this post.

From riches to rags – birthing a world prayer center

So… I spent a WHOLE YEAR in prayer after my return from Australia. A whole year of zero income.

I went from having a snazzy silver car, a great small business, a rented three bedroomed house, a pond with fish, tons of Christmas lights, two loving cats, iPhone, video projector with surround sound, movie and music collection, friends, income – to sleeping on a single bed in someone else’s house with no income and only a few clothes.

I have quite a bit of money in “superannuation funds” in Australia. You usually get it when you leave the country. But the rules surrounding the money seem to keep shifting. People keep asking for new requirements. Now they want this. Now they want that. Here I am, 18 months later, and I still haven’t had any of it.

People keep on asking me why I came back. I keep telling them, “God said!” You see, when I was about to leave Aus come back God put it on my heart to start a prayer center. I mentioned it a few times on this blog.

Then back in CT out with Christian friends one night, we all experienced God’s Presence SO powerfully and we had a wonderful time. As I sat on the couch God audibly said to me that was “time” to start the prayer center. He gave me a foundational scripture for it from Psalms. He said this prayer center would have an impact on the whole world and world political leaders would come to it to seek assistance.

I excitedly told my friends in the car as we drove home together that it was time. (Remember that I had no income and no car and almost no food). A few days later one of those friends said to tell another person whom I had not yet met. I called that new friend who was unknown to me and explained what God had said to me. That new friend then emailed lots of church people and before I knew it, the prayer center was happening… but I had not been invited to any of the meetings?!

The church pastor said “the person who gets the vision gets the job”… but not one of my friends told him that God had audibly spoken to me and I had come back from Australia with the vision! So I was not given the job. I was not invited to the preparatory meetings with the church leaders. Whatever the foundational scriptures are, they aren’t the ones God gave me.

But I kept praying and kept blogging. I went through a year of people thinking I was nuts. I think only 2 people ever donated a LARGE  amount of money to support what God was/is doing. It was weird because God TOLD me to ask for support, but support didn’t happen. I wrote about donations in so many posts, but only ever got two large donations.

Even people I financially supported when I had a flourishing business did not feel moved to financially support me now that I was in need and in this prayer ministry. Not one church supported me. At times I had no food and I mostly ate bread with margarine as the spread on it – because it was cheap.

I joined a home cell connected to that church. We had a wonderful evening. God showed other people (not me) visions of what He could do through us. We were to be an initial flame and many other flames would begin to burn as a result. And as we stood there in prayer I had a feeling they would not treasure His words and receive them in a soft and obedient heart (according to the parable of the seed sower). I warned them to hold onto His words so they come to pass. One week later the church held a meeting for women in all the cell groups. Two weeks later the group split up. No one held onto His words. A fabulous opportunity to impact the world was lost.

I could tell you many more stories of God breaking into meetings and giving the people opportunities to avert what is coming, and in each and every case the people did not hold onto the opportunity.

Meanwhile, God provided for me. I was always safe, always healthy, always happy. I had gone from riches to rags. I walked with holes in my shoes for a while. I was blessed with new shoes. People were always kind to me. I am grateful for the bed and the house I live in, and the food and warmth. Friends took me out for meals and gave me lifts sometimes. I am extremely grateful to all those people – and I have told them so.

My point is not to complain, it is to let you see that NOTHING was working. Doors were not opening. No one was getting the vision of what was coming.

But I kept praying! My room became my prayer center.

This goes back 6 or 7 years

If you get a chance to read my journals going back 6 or 7 years you will see my plea to God that if we just show His ability and His kindness I was SURE that people would change.

Even on this site I openly said that political leaders must acknowledge Jesus Christ when He sends the rain. He sent the rain… and they didn’t acknowledge Him. (In fact they did the opposite.)

I thought we could change. I hoped we would change. I was wrong. Something inside of us human beings is determined to ignore the words of Jesus Christ – no matter how many global miracles He does, no matter how many words He gives which then match real events.

I have often said that the most frequent words I hear from people is: “do it MY way”. Not even churches want to do it His way.

So I got it wrong. We didn’t change. But you know me… I don’t give up so easily!  🙂

I pressed on. I gave churches advice… they didn’t take it. I gave people advice… they didn’t take it. I wrote a book… no one published it.

Finally SOME success thanks to Nehemiah!

Back on 4 April 2007 the Holy Spirit showed me how He led Nehemiah to do it (See How Nehemiah’s city recovered and Nehemiah’s walls… rebuild near your home). He got the people to build the wall nearest to their home.

Let’s fast forward from 2007 to last year (2009), I made a two page “key prayer scriptures” document and put it on the right of all the pages on this blog. I taught people to pray for themselves using these scriptures. I have had some success with that. A few lives have turned around dramatically.

I wrote in this blog that we all need to build the wall near us. But not enough of the wall has been built to turn the course of this world around. Sadly.

Is it a photo finish? Who won?

And now this is it! The “greyhounds” are crossing the finish line. Which one won? Was it change or stubbornness?

Which “greyhound” crossed the line first?

Well… in fact it was never going to be a fair race. I didn’t realise that the race actually looks like this…

The elephant was always going to win

Countries and people simply do not want to change, no matter what. We human beings want to “do it MY way”. This is a race we stubborn human beings will regret winning.

From Is 13…

The LORD Almighty is mustering
an army for war.

5 They come from faraway lands,
from the ends of the heavens—
the LORD and the weapons of his wrath—
to destroy the whole country.

6Wail, for the day of the LORD is near;
it will come like destruction from the Almighty.

7 Because of this, all hands will go limp,
every heart will melt with fear.
8Terror will seize them,
pain and anguish will grip them;
they will writhe like a woman in labor.
They will look aghast at each other,
their faces aflame.

9 See, the day of the LORD is coming
—a cruel day, with wrath and fierce anger—
to make the land desolate
and destroy the sinners within it. – Is 13:4-9

This is days away now, no longer months.

There IS good news too!

Please remember, I have NOT ONLY told you about bad things, most of the time I have told you about GOOD things that are coming. Peace is coming. God’s Presence will increase. Many good things will also occur. I think I have spoken far more about the good news than I have about the bad news.

Jeremiah bought land right before Babylon occured!

When Jeremiah told the people they would be carried off to Babylon they would not have liked that. Jeremiah also said that they would be coming back again.

As a sign that he was sure they would be coming back, God told him to buy some land…

6 Jeremiah said, “The word of the LORD came to me: 7 Hanamel son of Shallum your uncle is going to come to you and say, ‘Buy my field at Anathoth, because as nearest relative it is your right and duty to buy it.’

8 “Then, just as the LORD had said, my cousin Hanamel came to me in the courtyard of the guard and said, ‘Buy my field at Anathoth in the territory of Benjamin. Since it is your right to redeem it and possess it, buy it for yourself.’

“Then, just as the LORD had said, my cousin Hanamel came to me in the courtyard of the guard and said, ‘Buy my field at Anathoth in the territory of Benjamin. Since it is your right to redeem it and possess it, buy it for yourself.’

“I knew that this was the word of the LORD

; 9 so I bought the field at Anathoth from my cousin Hanamel and weighed out for him seventeen shekels of silver. 10 I signed and sealed the deed, had it witnessed, and weighed out the silver on the scales. 11 I took the deed of purchase—the sealed copy containing the terms and conditions, as well as the unsealed copy— 12 and I gave this deed to Baruch son of Neriah, the son of Mahseiah, in the presence of my cousin Hanamel and of the witnesses who had signed the deed and of all the Jews sitting in the courtyard of the guard.

13 “In their presence I gave Baruch these instructions: 14 ‘This is what the LORD Almighty, the God of Israel, says: Take these documents, both the sealed and unsealed copies of the deed of purchase, and put them in a clay jar so they will last a long time. 15 For this is what the LORD Almighty, the God of Israel, says: Houses, fields and vineyards will again be bought in this land.’ – Jer 32:6-15

I got a glimpse yesterday of someone who has already begun to go through this hard time. It shook me. I saw that person panicking because she didn’t know what was happening to her. The fear in her voice scared me. I could see what was coming.

And at the same time, around the same few days I saw two Christians released into loving relationships. These same people a year ago were asking where their mate was, when he/she would arrive… so many Christians have been “stuck” and wondering what is going on. I told one of them in Feb that his partner would come in Sept. And now it’s 1 month and a bit late… early Nov 2010. But he met her in Sept – so I was not wrong 🙂

My point is that both good and bad things are happening. It’s not just bad things.

There is nothing we can do now, other than raise a shield over ourselves, our families and so on – build the wall nearest to ourselves, Jeremiah style.

But. Be sure that if God got so many things right – and He did – then He is also able to do good to us and bring us through into a far better place.

The Holy Spirit will be poured out on ALL flesh. Human society will change utterly. We will beat our swords into poughshares.

BTW I know that some people might lament that I put so much of myself into what I write. I find it unavoidable. I am not writing as an emotionally  detached person. I have been living this for years now. It’s a part of me, it’s what I think and feel.

I’m a mess of a human being like everyone else. Like you, I’m just trying to keep up and figure out what’s happening and what to do.

It’s all about Jesus Christ.

2 responses to “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

  1. Pingback: When Things Go Wrong | The Third Cross Congregation·

  2. Pingback: Let Patience Have Her Perfect Work, She Knows What She’s Doing. « The Lukewarm Church·

What did you think of this post or this blog?

