My newest faith project… weight loss


Ummm, errr, cough, cough. I’m so hesitant to blog this in public. This topic of weight loss is intensely personal. You’ve read about when Joshua and Caleb went into Israel and saw the giants? Most of the nation said they could not defeat the giants. Well… I’ve been defeated by this giant all of my life and it’s a very sensitive issue for me. So blogging in public is more courageous than you can possibly imagine.

But it’s time. And like David enjoyed smashing giants in public, I’ve been doing that too. But this is the biggie. This one has kept me in emotional and psychological chains all my life. In fact, I’ve used it to keep myself safe as well. I’ve used being over-weight as a way to avoid male-female relationships, because I didn’t want to get hurt. So this is a big, entrenched giant.

But do you know what? No giant, not even satan, is a match for what Jesus Christ did on the cross. And if you want to know more, you’ve come to the right place! I’ve blogged extensively about my search to understand what Jesus Christ did for us.

I have blogged many times about how I’ve interceded with scripture (.DOC) in various countries and situations with great success. I’ve also prayed those same scriptures at church and seen a sort of mini-revival break out with God’s Presence being manifest. I’ve prayed those same scriptures over local regions and seen the crime rate drop. Through  faith in Jesus Christ’s perfect and complete work on the cross rain has come to drought areas and hurricanes have been stopped in their tracks.

There is truly NOTHING that has not been renewed and restored back to God IF we will believe what God says about His Son Jesus Christ.

Why does this work? It’s because it is our daily faith which overcomes the evil of this world. Not just any old faith, but a daily overcoming trust and belief that Jesus Christ really DID do on the cross what the bible says that He did. No ifs ands or buts… He did it.

More recently I began to struggle with how to attain all that God did for me through Jesus Christ on His cross in my personal life. I wrote about this mental shift that was needed in my thinking here: Whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you HAVE received it

And after I discovered that truth, God then spoke this to me: “Nothing will be impossible for you” – Jesus Christ.

Tackling this giant

Now I am tackling a new giant in my life. My weight. I have been overweight for most of my life and I’ve never liked it and I’ve never been able to do anything about it. When I got married – looooong ago – I slimmed down nicely, but that didn’t last long and by the end of the marriage I was much bigger than ever before.

So here I am… putting my faith to the test. I believe, I trust, I know, I have faith that Jesus Christ has healed me on His cross. He took it all. He paid for it all. He made me holy, pure and blameless. He made me healthy. I am in Him. He is in me. I am no longer a physical body, but a spiritual body. Etc.

These are the kinds of scriptures I will be declaring in faith 2-4 times a day – and all the while I’m also believing that Jesus Christ has crushed the head of the serpent, He destroyed the works of the devil, He slayed the serpent etc.

This combination of scriptures about the cross of Jesus Christ destroyed poverty in my life since I wrote that blog post: Whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you HAVE received it

And I have no doubt that Jesus Christ destroyed all unhealthy sickness  in my life as well. I know that a double minded man gets nothing, so I won’t doubt what He did on the cross.

I began this prayer yesterday (20th Nov 2011) and on the 27th of Sept 2011 I took some pics of myself, because I knew that if my finances turned around, then I would tackle this next. So I took those pics and as of yesterday I have started declaring the truth of what Jesus Christ did for me. And when my body shape and my choices and my thinking changes over the next few months – which is something I have never been able to do in my own strength – you will know for certain that it was not me who did it. You will know Who did it 🙂

If it’s DONE, what is my role in all of this?

So let’s take a moment and think this through… when the Israelites crossed into Israel in Joshua 1, God told Joshua to go be strong and very courageous and take the whole land. He told him to conquer it and to NOT make any agreements with any of the inhabitants there. And that is my view too… as we cross over this spiritual Jordan let us NOT make any side deals with our secret addictions or our fantasies.

Instead let us be like the bride of Christ as described in Eph 4

12His intention was the perfecting and the full equipping of the saints (His consecrated people), [that they should do] the work of ministering toward building up Christ’s body (the church),

13[That it might develop] until we all attain oneness in the faith and in the comprehension of the [full and accurate] knowledge of the Son of God, that [we might arrive] at really mature manhood (the completeness of personality which is nothing less than the standard height of Christ’s own perfection), the measure of the stature of the fullness of the Christ and the completeness found in Him.

THROUGH JESUS CHRIST we are to come to a full knowledge of Him and become like Him. We become like Him ONLY because He first loved us and now is within us. It is no longer we who live, but He lives in us. That alone is the reason we become like Him. By ourselves we are fallen sinners without hope, but IN HIM we are able to grow and mature into the: the measure of the stature of the fullness of the Christ and the completeness found in Him.

As the bride of Christ what should we be striving to do? Verse 1…

1THEREFORE BE imitators of God [copy Him and follow His example]

They say that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery and if we imitate God or Jesus Christ or the Holy Spirit we are using our very lives to flatter God.

How do you imitate God? How do you follow His example? By reading scripture, understanding what His heart’s desire is, what He deeply desires from us – and then acting on it.

So what does scripture say Jesus Christ wants from His bride?

He wants His bride to submit to Him, learning His ways, adjusting ourselves to Him…

22Wives, be subject (be submissive and adapt yourselves) to your own husbands as [a service] to the Lord.

And in return, what did He do for us on His cross? He made us clean and beautiful…

26So that He might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the Word, 27That He might present the church to Himself in glorious splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such things [that she might be holy and faultless].

Wow, did you hear what He did for you on His cross? He made us spotless, without wrinkle on the cross.

And what does He want His bride to do in return? He asks that we admire Him, worship Him, honor Him, praise Him… exceedingly…

33 let the wife see that she respects and reverences her husband [that she notices him, regards him, honors him, prefers him, venerates, and esteems him; and that she defers to him, praises him, and loves and admires him exceedingly].

Considering all that He did for us on His cross – already done, simply waiting for us to receive it by faith – considering all that, I have absolutely no problem esteeming Him, loving Him, praising Him, admiring Him. He is worthy.

And do you know what, when we truly take hold of all He did for us on His cross, He sees the fruit of the travail of His soul and He is satisfied.

Eat from Him. Drink from Him.  🙂

One response to “My newest faith project… weight loss

  1. Pingback: Today I Need Some Gospel 112111 « Mennonite Preacher·

What did you think of this post or this blog?

