Peace and revival everywhere update


Some time in 2008 I felt God was saying this point had been reached:

Now will I arise,” says the LORD. “Now will I be exalted; now will I be lifted up. – Is 33:10

Then in 2009 I blogged that I believed that God was making two prophetic claims:

  1. There would be peace everywhere
  2. There will be revival everywhere (the Holy Spirit being poured out)

You can follow the story from start to wherever we are now…

It was hard to believe that something so remarkable could occur. Let’s think back to 2008. Fully 30% of the population of this world was involved in war. India vs Pakistan, Russia (Chechneya), USA (with LOTS of countries such as Iraq, Afghanistan) to name just a few places.

According to this interesting document…

The United Nations defines “major wars” as military conflicts inflicting 1,000 battlefield deaths per year.
In 1965, there were 10 major wars under way.
At the end of 2003 there were 15.
As of mid-2005, there were 8 major wars under way, with as many as two dozen “lesser” conflicts ongoing with varrying degrees of intensity.
The world at war – globalsecurity.org

In the midst of 30% of the world population being at war, I felt that God said that He would bring peace to this world.

In October 2011 I wrote this post which tracks the change: Increasing Peace. In that post I presented this wikipedia map of ongoing conflicts in the world:

You might be wondering what the light blue and dark blue bits mean…

Now we are in April 2012 – is there any improvement?

What does that same map of ongoing conflicts in the world from Wikipedia look like now?

Good news… there are more than 11 changes – there is much much less war right now!!

All war and all deaths are bad… and unfortunately some new wars have started in 2011-2012 (and they are already on that map). But you have to admit that the trend is away from dark blue and there is much less of any blue on the map.

But consider these amazing words

Violence continues to decline,  or disappear completely, in places like  Iraq, Nepal, Haiti, Sri Lanka, Nigeria, Ivory Coast, Chechnya,  Congo, Indonesia, and Burundi. – Wars Update

“Violence continues to decline or disappear completely”. Wow. Just let that sink in. Selah.

Jesus Christ is the One Who has done this. I only told you about it, but He did it on His cross.

“Now will I arise,” says the LORD. “Now will I be exalted; now will I be lifted up. – Is 33:10

You have heard these things; look at them all. Will you not admit them? ”From now on I will tell you of new things, of hidden things unknown to you. – Is 48:6

It is all, completely, about Jesus Christ and if you know me and my past story, I am just a broken earthen vessel…

But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. – 2 Cor 4:7

NOTE:  There are other sources of data such as UCDP and HIIK and globalsecurity.org but their data can be a year or even two years out of date. Wikipedia’s page is edited every day going back to 31 July 2005 and that is why I’ve had to use it as a baseline.

Claim 2: Revival everywhere!

But let’s not forget the second prophetic claim… “revival everywhere”.

When revival hits we will all know it, or know of it. But for now it’s not easy to show any increase or progression towards the fulfillment of that claim.

Today I found something that might be an indicator. Take a look, I wrote about it in more detail on my Pray for your city blog post called World Revival.

The images below show the number of searches for “revival” done across the world. The darker the blue color, the more searches. The first image is in 2004 with just the USA having blue. The last image is April 2012 and many countries around the world show dark blues.

It’s very interesting to me that the most interest in revival was initially from the USA, but that could be skewed by the fact that the internet had not spread into common use worldwide yet.

The spread in very recent years shows progress worldwide. Remember what God said: revival everywhere!

In 2011 the world darkened slightly in terms of interest in revival, but now in 2012 the world is lighting up with interest in a big way. This is no doubt in response to fervent prayer… and the prayer is in response to the prompting of the Holy Spirit.

Here are some details of revival history listing 10 revivals and the revival lessons learned from them.

I did some more research and found an interesting spike in interest in revival every September… it’s not important, just interesting  🙂

Please listen to these words…

You are My witnesses, says the Lord,

and My servant whom I have chosen,

Before Me there was no God formed, neither shall there be after Me. I, even I, am the Lord, and besides Me there is no Savior.

I have declared [the future] and have saved [the nation in times of danger], and I have shown [that I am God]–

when there was no strange and alien god among you; therefore you are My witnesses, says the Lord, that I am God.

Yes, from the time of the first existence of day and from this day forth I am He; and there is no one who can deliver out of My hand.

I will work, and who can hinder or reverse it? – Is 43:10-13

Would you like to intercede for peace in your country or in the world? All you need to do is get a map of the area you want to pray for and get this list of scriptures (or download the MS Word version) and speak each scripture out over the area you are praying for. It’s as easy as that.

2 responses to “Peace and revival everywhere update

  1. I’m not surprised revival has been a popular search in the US. In my church and in others in my area, I’ve seen a swell of interest by both young and old, by those who have been faithful their whole lives and those new to the faith. It is a very joyful thing to see. 🙂

    • Agreed!! And the very fabric of society will heal “I will heal your land”.This morning I was wondering… how far can we take this? Can we pray countries into revival? I think yes!

What did you think of this post or this blog?

