Intercessory missionary


I first saw the term “intercessory missionary” a few years ago when I was reading Joshua Hawkins blog and he used the term. I had been interceding for droughts, countries and war zones for a few years and when I saw that term I responded to it 🙂

We are all aware of traditional missionaries who relocate to other nations to serve in mercy deeds or preaching. But I believe the Lord is also highlighting a new type of missionary that is essential to seeing the gospel of the kingdom preached in all of the nations and Jesus returning to earth to rule from Jerusalem as King of kings to be exclusively worshipped by all of His creation. An intercessory missionary is a “missionary“ in the sense that they dedicate their lives in ministry for Jesus and for others like a traditional missionary does. But rather than exclusively serving through mercy deeds, their service is first and primarily through ministry to Jesus in night and day worship and prayer – Joshua Hawkins

Joshua goes on to list several scriptural instances of people praying and fasting before the breakthrough comes. The two wonderful examples of this IMO are…

  • Anna fasted and prayed in the temple day and night for decades unto the first coming of Christ, her intercession was pivotal to His coming! – Luke 2:36-38
  • Jesus Christ said to His disciples “pray the Lord of the harvest to send forth laborers” so their prayers preceded the sending of laborers into the harvest – Mat 9:36

And if you have read my posts on revival, you will know that history shows that every revival was preceded by prayer and repentance (pray for revival).

So far, so good

So… Ive been praying in this role for about 6+ years now (it’s 2012 now) and here are a selection of things I have prayed for. They have been visible in the menu on the site for some time, but perhaps not everyone has seen them, and I’ve never publically highlighted them before.

The drop down menu across the top of this blog… pls note this is not an exhaustive list of prayers…

Menu items showing intercessions

I try to document my prayers as much as possible to record the conditions beforehand and then record the prayers and then track the change.

My hope is that people SEE the fruit and begin to pray in the same way themselves… “catching the fire” as some people put it. And if they see the fruit they might be moved by the Holy Spirit to support the ministry work.

But regardless of support or no support, I will keep loving people anyway. Ive spent years literally eating bread and tomatos while praying and not working formally. But now more recently Ive been blessed with a safe place to stay and deluxe food. But I don’t have a home of my own, I don’t own a car, I earn very little income.

But as I said, I will keep loving and keep teaching and keep reaching out to as many people and helping them as possible.

A normal missionary… yes, eventually

So that’s what it means for me to be an intercessory missionary. There was a moment, right after praying for Egypt in 2011, when I felt I had to go there. Money arrived within 24 hours and the way seemed clear. But the money was removed and no one else wanted to support. It’s a pity, because I think Egypt lost out in terms of what God wanted to do there. If there was financial support and support from leadership who could perceive God’s plan, then things could have been different there than they are now.

Teaching

I also try to encourage people to learn how to break through. So I tell the story and explain how I pray and what my theology is. In this way I hope other people “catch the fire” in a sense. So I have this download link on all of my pages on this site…

ms_word_icon2008-9 Prophecies and Miracles v2 (3MB) – A collection of all blog posts relating to the prophecies and fulfilled miracles during my stay in Australia. <100 pages. Feedback welcome!

And more than that, I try to train people to pray the same verses that i do – because no matter what situation you are facing, Jesus Christ HAS resolved it on His cross.

ms_word_iconKey prayer scriptures (v3!) – “He is the God who gives life to the dead and calls things that are not as though they were.” – Rom 4:17

One size fits all

You might be surprised to hear that I always use those same scriptures, whether I pray for a hurricanes in the USA..

Praying to end hurricanes

… or if I am praying for a civil war (see 2010 DRC) it’s still the exact same prayer of the same scriptures.

The sword of the Lord

Ive helped many people overcome severe difficulties in their lives by showing them how to pray those same scriptures. You see, scriptures are the sword of the Lord.

For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. – Heb 4:12

And it’s not just any old scriptures, it’s the ones that declare the finished work of Jesus Christ on the cross. THATS where the power is found, through Him, through His work on the cross.

The proof of the pudding is in the eating

Ive taught this to many people.

  • One lady saw her marital issues resolved and she wrote later “each day is better than the previous”.
  • Another one saw the darkness flee not only from their house, but she prayed for a local gang war and it stopped! She and her family began to find rare species of animals in their garden.
  • ive been praying over the city I live in and revival is beginning here!

No, I kid you not. I could go on, but I won’t bore you. 🙂

You’re not bored, are you 🙂

As George Michael said “you gotta have faith”

Jesus Christ is a one size fits all solution. Whatever the problem is, He fixed it on the cross… you heard it, now believe it in order to receive the benefit…

For we also have had the gospel preached to us, just as they did; but the message they heard was of no value to them, because those who heard did not combine it with faith. – Heb 4:2

If you read to the end of this post, you might like to support this ministry and what Jesus Christ is doing in it. If you like it and you want it to grow and to touch more people, then pray for me, pray for my character, pray for me to be better connected to the Holy Spirit – and help this ministry financially.

Would you like to intercede for peace in your country or in the world? All you need to do is get a map of the area you want to pray for and get this list of scriptures (or download the MS Word version) and speak each scripture out over the area you are praying for. It’s as easy as that.

8 responses to “Intercessory missionary

  1. Pingback: JESUS GIVES AND INTERCESSORY PRAYER « Vine and Branch World Ministries·

  2. Hi Mark,My fellow Prayer Missionary,Peace and Joy,and Blessing in our wonderful Lord and Savoir,Jesus Christ! I donot do Facebook. Time before Jesus’ return is so very,very short(I can actually write a short bit about the first warning God gave me-and others’ as well,in fact. It was quite astonishing then,shocking,really,and still is when I look back back at it. In fact,it partly fits in with my fervency to do my actual calling and with great enthusiasm,joy,drive,vigor(and anything else I can find to do that pleases the Lord my God,while there is time-such as Praising and Worshipping )
    I do want to recommend the following 4 page pdf. on the subject of Prayer Missionaries,as it is simply packed with priceless info,Mark.
    http://www.globaldayofprayer.com/PDF/Adobe Acrobat. Then too,although not specifically about “Prayer Missionaries”,yet being the best book on “Intercession” I’ve ever read,and one of the best books I’ve ever read-one I’ll refer back to again and again-I would like to strongly recommend the book,”Intercessory Prayer,How God can use your prayers to move heaven and earth”,by Dutch Sheets,if you have not yet read it,amongst other fine Intercession books.
    There is something so satisfying about waking up each morning and saying;I wonder what the mighty God-who is greater than all!-has planned for today? How many people have been healed?…How many other prayer answers have there been overnight? The Lord has me go on several worldwide news.com for the items and people,situations He wants me to pray for,which includes USA,and UK,and Europe. Sometimes He has instructed me to pray for a person,and I say,”REALLY?”LOL I was stunned by the first famous person. All persons are the same in God’s eyes. There is no respect of person,and not with me,actually,as my Daddy taught me otherwise. =)*
    I pray for you,Mark,my dear brother,and fellow P.M.IT.L. “Praying Always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit,and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;” (Eph.6:18)If you ever have a special need,let me know,I will be happy agree together with you in prayer or to do intercession for the need or multiple needs… PK

    • Thanks for sharing and for encouraging me PK. I really appreciate you!!

      Can you please provide a link to the PDF that you mentioned? I can find it.

      God bless you my friend,
      Mark.

  3. Hi Mark,Sorry about my very long delay in commenting after asking the question,”What is a Prayer Missionary?” The Lord My God has had me so unbelievably busy,because as you may have guessed,I went ahead and continued to google the question,clicking on the second and the third pages,then,bingo! I found a short pdf about Prayer Missionaries-just what I needed to know. It spoke about a type of trial and error in praying for different countries,and eventually developing a special affection for one. I already was at work in one country,somewhat,but it was not the country for which I was called. However,it -Pakistan(and Egypt,by the way!)are countries known to be in what is called the 10/40 window,or unevangelised area-I will briefly pause and give my story. My father was called to the ministry,and it was just at that time that that my parents learned that my mother was expecting. My father was sure it was a sign and great blessing from the Lord. They dedicated my life to the Lord,and my daddy was so convinced I was a boy,and to be a combination of the John Wesley and the Apostle Paul. He refused to choose a girl’s name’s,and he was so stunned when I ended up being a girl.
    I knew from a the time of salvation at 8 years of age that I was to be a foreign missionary. However, I always got the place wrong. I thought I was called to Africa.I was officially called by the Holy Spirit at a Baptist Girls’ Camp Service at age 11. Unfortunately, my life took a wrong turn when I was still quite young. My parents said to me,”I don’t know what you will do now. You can’t be a Missionary now.”
    During recent years I have told the Lord that I will do whatever He wants me to do,for Him just to give the word and I would obey. Many times I would see visions of myself deeply in prayer,but He made it clear to me that Intercession Prayer is not what He wanted for my Life. Then began times of prayer and fasting to learn exactly what I was to do. The Father God would tell me to “Study to show myself approved unto God;A workman who needeth not to be ashamed,rightly dividing the Word of God.” Then in recent times,now that I am in my late 50s,He let me know,in a time of fasting and prayer,”…that the gifts and calling of God are without repentance,”(Rom.11:29)He told me He had called me as a missionary,and THAT is the work I was to do!He then directed me,by His Spirit,soon after,with me weeping with all my heart,an article of Lottie Moon,a Southern Baptist Missionary who gave so much of herself to the people of the country of China. He said to me,”This is the country that you were called to.”

    How did God bring me onto your site,Mark? I had typed in “End Time prophecies of Stanley Frodsham”,as I have been following End Time prophecies from True men of God,and particularly from the Word of God for years!

    Once I scrolled down and saw your name and then,”Prayer Missionary”,I said to the Lord,”I don’t think I am on this site by accident,or seeing this term by accident.” After I read the 4 page pdf(I will have to get the address for you,Mark),I then said to the Lord,”Well,I already know the country I am called to is China,yet it’s a big place. Is there a certain area(me knowing absolutely nothing about China)that you specificially want me to pray for?”I had felt the presence of the Holy Spirit when I first began to speak about China;then this word:S H A N D U N G. I typed the way I saw the word into Google. Google asked,”Do you mean,Shantung?”=)

    As you know, Jesus,the Lord of the Harvest,has been,and is, crying out for labourers to go out into the fields. I took a wrong turn,then I was told by well-meaning loved ones that because of a mistake I made when very young,I could not go into the foreign fields to labour. Not knowing what the Word of God said at the time,or for years to come,sadly,I was fooled for many years to come. If anyone reading this is called by God,please heed the call. Study. Seek God,and Follow His leading. When He says “Go”,Go!

    I add my praises with Mark’s for the mighty power God displays when His people seek Him in prayer. I have seen many miracles-by Jesus’ name we shall cast out demons…by way of prayer, prayer, all signs of cancer has had to leave my Mother-in-law’s body…These are two very recent cases,as The Lord Jesus constantly works on our behalf,Praise His name forever more!!

    Thank you, Mark,for wonderfully answering my question. God bless you and prosper you in all ways,and keep you safe. Your sister in Christ,PK x

  4. Pingback: 93. Prayer on the Day of the Ascension (Evangelical Lutheran Prayer Treasury) « De Profundis Clamavi ad Te, Domine·

  5. Is it not amazing that God gives us so much power? Thank you for sharing what you’ve learned with us!

What did you think of this post or this blog?

