Im healed… soon to be free, part #3


This is a part of a series…

I keep hearing this phrase “the ties that bind” I realised the Holy Spirit was telling me… yes Im healed, but the reason Im not free is to do with “the ties that bind”.

I did a search and it turns out that phrase is not in the bible. Its a song. But. I found out the bible speaks of many different kinds of ties… or cords.

Im familiar with the concept of soul ties but I deliberately havent done *THAT* for a loooooong time. But. Unfortunately. Im not squeaky clean either.

I avoided soul ties because I didnt want to become “one flesh” with someone who wasnt my wife. But. It turns out that sin creates OTHER kinds of ties… or cords.

Praise God… I mean literally… PRAISE GOD! that I am healed, but these cords have to go in order for me to be free.

Emotional healing came by faith… Im sure these cords will also be cut… through my faith in Jesus Christ.

Faith is a funny thing. Joseph Prince says the enemy is active in the realm of my feelings but God is active in the realm of my faith.

Feelings… which is where my pain was and thats what caused me to do the wrong things to numb my pain.

Fath… is what you believe is true. You can believe what the world says about you OR you can believe what scripture says that Jesus Christ HAS done for you.  Note the past tense. Not WILL do but HAS done.

But back to my problem at hand. Im emotionally healed BECAUSE of what Jesus Christ HAS done for me on His cross. Amen. Thats done.

So then WHY do I go and do the wrong thing AGAIN! even though I have no pain driving me to do it?

So I looked into these “cords” and found

“A cord is a thick string or a strong rope. As a picture, a cord is any force acting as a tie or bond connecting you to something else.

Our life is tied up with thousands of thin cords. Some of them tie us to the world and its pleasures; some of them tie us to God and His service.” – Learn the bible

That was the first page I felt to read when I searched for “the ties that bind” and it’s first scripture was this

20 And why wilt thou, my son, be ravished with a strange woman, and embrace the bosom of a stranger?

21 For the ways of man are before the eyes of the LORD, and he pondereth all his goings.

22 His own iniquities shall take the wicked himself, and he shall be holden with the cords of his sins. 23 He shall die without instruction; and in the greatness of his folly he shall go astray. – Prov 5:20-23

Ouch. Busted. IYKWIM.

I thought that I could avoid “soul ties” by not *actually* having s3x with “a strange woman” and then I would avoid having a soul tie with her. Clever me!  🙂

But. It turns out that according to that scripture my iniquities and sins take hold of me and make cords to tie me to them.

So. I never became “one flesh” with a strange woman (yay!) but I still became trapped in the cords. Dang. Not so clever.

Initially I was doing the wrong thing because of pain and loneliness… but now unless I cut those cords (by faith through Jesus Christ’s finished work on the cross) I will be doing those same things over and over simply because of the cords.

No thanks.

On the cross the Lord cut asunder the cords of the wicked… see Psalm 129…

Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth, may Israel now say: Many a time have they afflicted me from my youth: yet they have not prevailed against me. The plowers plowed upon my back: they made long their furrows.

The LORD is righteous: he has cut asunder the cords of the wicked.

Let them all be confounded and turned back that hate Zion. Let them be as the grass upon the housetops, which withers before it grows up: With which the reaper fills not his hand; nor he that binds sheaves his bosom. Neither do they who go by say, The blessing of the LORD be upon you: we bless you in the name of the LORD. – Ps 129

What did you think of this post or this blog?

